The Kind Life.

April 12, 2010 at 8:53 pm 6 comments

While tonight’s dinner does hail from Alicia Silverstone’s The Kind Life, the title of this post does go a bit beyond that. A big part of why I have been removing animal products and byproducts from my life the past 4 years has to do with animals.  While I do recognize many of the health benefits of leading a plant-based diet (my cholesterol and triglicerides went from high to very slow in a matter of 3-months), it’s my compassion for animals that has led me to this place. I always have in the back of my head “I wouldn’t harm my pet why would I allow an animal to be harmed or killed for me to EAT”. Just thinking about it makes me quiver.  If you commit yourself to envisioning an animal being slaughtered then put on your plate, well, it just doesn’t sit well with me.

This is all really besides the point, because I wanted to segue into last night.  It was a gorgeous evening and the perfect weather for a run, however my knees are still experiencing pain and I couldn’t run. So I dedicated myself to 20-minutes of a walk/jog around my complex. Every minute I’d switch between a walk and a jog. As I was enjoying some pain-free moments, I saw a little white face with whiskers at the end of the culdesac. The inner cat lady in me came crawling out, “here kitty kitty“, and off it ran. Then came Lap 2:  I was greeted by not one, but two kittens chilling next to a bush.  Of course I tried to creepily beckon them to me, to no avail.  Then D got home and I dragged his ass out there where we crawled under a bush to see four beady eyes.   Of course we had to spare some of Veruca the cat’s food and feed these babies and hope that each night this week we can slowly gain their trust and lore them in.

The point of all this is, while I’m in no position to harbor another pet,  I’ve had a pet hit by a car and killed and know the reality of outdoor cats near a main drag.  Moreover, these guys can only be a few months old and about three months ago I saw a dead cat right near where they are living (and of course I had to run out of my car and cry and see if it had a collar – it didn’t) and I daresay it was these babies mamacita. And what are they eating?  My heart goes out to these animals and they are young enough to enjoy some love and a good home, and I can’t help but be drawn to their little white faced cause.  So, I don’t eat animals and would rather animals not be eaten by cars as well.  I’ll update with pictures as we become more friendly.

And so, dinner was inspired by my little tomcat friends. Also it was inspired by the 5-minutes I had to throw it together. I’ve been pretty scared of some of the recipes in The Kind Life, especially since I share most of my dinners with D.  So the “Fried Rice” recipe was the obvious choice.  I left out some ingredients that I didn’t know existed but I did make a big leap and cooked with Bok Choy for the first time ever. I know, if I didn’t know better I’d think “Bok Choy” was a famous chef.  It actually wasn’t so bad and sort of tasted like a leafy broccoli.  The recipe was so simple to throw together (since I cooked up rice last night), and D loved it and finished up the leftovers!  It’s always a success when D doesn’t move food around on his plate like a 5-year old.

The stir fry consisted of a mix of shredded carrot, bok choy, scallions, and cashews. I had already pressed tofu however got home at 8:00 and just didn’t feel like taking the extra 20-minutes.

Since today was the first day back at work with the kids in over a week, I may or may not have consumed an unspecified amount of animal crackers (vegan, who knew!?) to cope.  Hoping to get home a bit earlier tomorrow and crack out a fancier dinner with some protein, and eat less animal crackers.

All this talk about animals and animal crackers leads me to ask, are you an animal person? I grew up in a house of 6-animals (3-cats and 3-dogs) and although I only cohabitate with 1 cat currently, she’s got enough attitude to count for three.

Also, Val’s Aurorae giveaway ends today, check it out!

Entry filed under: dinner, the kind life, vegan. Tags: , , , , , .

I Daiya-d today! The High Holy Lost Night.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Keri - IEatTrees  |  April 12, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    Aww, 4 kittens!! I worked at shelters all through high school because that was all I knew to do to help. When I got old enough to have my own place, I adopted pets and began fostering some of the animals that were unable to survive without constant care, such as abandoned newborn kittens. It was always rewarding, even if it meant I had to get up every two hours to bottle feed (Hey, it was training me for future motherhood and I didn’t even know!). There wasn’t always a happy ending, but at least I knew they were loved and well taken care of! I currently live with one dog (originally my husband’s in college) and two cats (originally mine in college). 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  April 13, 2010 at 7:38 pm

      Wow what a big heart you have – I honestly have always wanted to do fostering and animal care, however I’m afraid I’d become too emotionally attached, as selfish as that sounds. I’m hoping I can find time and a place for that in the future though!

      Reply
  • 3. Shenandoah Vegan  |  April 13, 2010 at 6:40 am

    I don’t know what city you’re in, but you can go on Petfinder or Alley Cat Allies and find a local group that does catch/neuter/release for feral cats. Maybe they can move the kittens to a safer location after they’re fixed. (Yep, I’m an animal person — two pups, seven cats, fifteen chickens).

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  April 13, 2010 at 7:37 pm

      That’s great information and I’m going to investigate. I’m sort of worried they may belong to someone who isn’t bright enough to collar their pet and keep them indoors, so I’m going to take some time before I make any rash moves.

      Reply
  • 5. Jessi  |  April 13, 2010 at 7:31 am

    I love animals, but i am not at the point in my life where i can have one to care for myself. i am rarely home and if it got sick i wouldn’t be able to financially care for it. however, my mom and sister both have dogs and i visit them almost every day. they make me happy and i love that they smile when i walk through my moms door (one is a min-pin and one if a full sized doberman (her pics have been in my blog before) and they have this way of just making all your worries melt away.

    Reply
    • 6. Amanda  |  April 13, 2010 at 7:37 pm

      I agree – they really can feel emotion and it’s nice to come home to someone whose been waiting for you! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


