The High Holy Lost Night.

April 13, 2010 at 7:59 pm 8 comments

I’m going to spare my long winded story telling tonight, for it is a high holy night.  Tuesdays are sacred in our home (and in the past any night that Lost has fallen on the last few years for that matter). When I was in college, I would go to the gym and record Lost (on my VCR) and watch it after I showered and crawled into bed.  When I moved to San Diego, I would lock myself in my room, shut off all the lights, and watch.  Then I’d call D, who was on the east coast and had already watched the episode, and wake him up so we could discuss any new developments.  We even planned an entire evening during a vacation to San Francisco around getting back to our hotel to watch the season finale.  So we’re pretty legit about what Lost means to us.

So while Lost has been a constant in my life for the past six years, Skinny Bitch was the cataclysmic event that brought on an immense change in the way I view my health, eating habits, and outlook on many aspects of life. My “About Me” goes a bit more into detail, but this is the book that unintentionally turned me. So it’s pretty shocking that I haven’t even touched a recipe in either this book or it’s follow up Skinny Bitch in the Kitch. Tonight we changed that, and I quickly whipped up their version of “pad thai“.

I followed the recipe nearly to the T, except they didn’t call for any peanut butter which I think is pretty absurd.  So I added 1.5 tablespoons of creamy natural peanut butter to the marinade.  I also didn’t have any chili sauce so I used 1/2 a teaspoon of red pepper flakes, and I chose to bake my tofu instead of fry for obvious health reasons.

This recipe was SPOT ON, and I don’t think it would nearly have knocked it out of the park without the peanut butter.  D happily gobbled his up, and I licked my plate clean.  If you have the recipe, give it a go – I swear (with peanut butter added) it tastes as good as any Thai restaurant that I’ve been to.

So with four minutes to spare I’m signing off – but not before I share that I’m halfway through my 20-in-30 yoga challenge! 10 classes to go!

Lost Fans: Whose your fave leading dude?  Sawyer? Desmond? Sayid? I have a three-way tie between those three gentlemen.  Sawyer and Sayid for their badass meets romantic, and Desmond for his story. Happy watching!

Entry filed under: dinner, skinny bitch, thai, tofu, vegan. Tags: , , , , , , , .

The Kind Life. Virtuous tofu scramble.

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Keri - IEatTrees  |  April 13, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    I’m trying to think of the last show I was so dedicated to… I know there have been many, but once baby came, knowing when I got to plop my butt in front of the TV was out the window. I guess I could get a DVR but.. ya know. Haha. Happy Lost Night! 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  April 14, 2010 at 8:12 pm

      I’m pretty sure the world changes when you have a babylicious! DVR is our friend over here though – big time!

      Reply
  • 3. Hangry Pants  |  April 14, 2010 at 9:35 am

    Desmond!

    Reply
  • 4. Jill - veganbackpacker  |  April 14, 2010 at 9:40 am

    It’s nice to read a blog post gushing about Lost AND a wonderful vegan meal. I’ve been following Lost for years too. Hugo is becoming my fave, he’s just so sweet. That’s one hell of a three way tie. They’re all pretty darn handsome.

    Reply
    • 5. Amanda  |  April 14, 2010 at 8:13 pm

      That’s funny you say Hurley, because up until last season I was all Hurley all the way. Then all of a sudden the heartthrobs grabbed me, how cliche!!!

      Reply
  • 6. Shenandoah Vegan  |  April 15, 2010 at 11:33 am

    They’d better tie up the show in a coherent manner or there will be a lot of angry viewers out there. At least Michael finally reappeared. Guess Walt got too big to bring back. Where’s Mr. Echo & Anna Lucia?

    Reply
    • 7. Amanda  |  April 18, 2010 at 8:19 pm

      You think they’ll really bring everyone back?? I think Anna Lucia is looong gone?

      Reply
  • 8. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  May 10, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    I love Skinny Bitch in the Kitch! I’ve cooked (and posted about) several recipes from it recently too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


