Virtuous tofu scramble.

April 14, 2010 at 9:00 pm 5 comments

Gosh today turned out to be one of those nonstop 12-hour days when you don’t stop until you crash.  I rushed from work, to private clients, to yoga, to home.  That’s when I got a phone call from my parents that they were going to stop by – while I am soaking wet and preparing dinner. Great. I sort of tried to selfishly protest but they insisted. Of course when my mother hands me a small gift bag, I was not anticipating Sebastian’s ashes and a clay paw print.  I pretty much lost my cool, but continued on with my “easy” dinner to try to keep myself focused.

I’ve officially had three tofu scrambles to date at restaurants, and only one left me absolutely gushing and craving tofu scrambles for weeks (visit this place if that’s what you’re looking for). The other two, well, they really complemented my potatoes and toast breakfast if you catch my drift.  So with Daiya on hand, I went at it.  I used the “Classic Scramble” recipe from Vegan Brunch, halving the cumin and nutritional yeast, and adding chopped onion.

Check out that gooey melty cheese! I also learned a valuable lesson: when adding vegan cheese to a tofu scramble, it is unnecessary to add nutritional yeast.  I have to say, and I can’t believe I’m admitting this, my scramble was a bit too cheesy. Maybe it’s because I’m adjusting to life in the cheese-free lane finally.  Or maybe I just overdid it on the Daiya.  Regardless, this was pretty delicious and tasted pretty damn close to the onion/mozzarella scramble I used to make frequently back in the day. Rock on Isa, this totally did the trick.  I just need a few hash browns next time but I’m officially no longer afraid of tofu scrambles!

Entry filed under: breakfast, dinner, tofu, vegan, vegan brunch. Tags: , , , , , , .

The High Holy Lost Night. ‘screaming for frozen treats.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Keri - IEatTrees  |  April 15, 2010 at 9:43 am

    I’m planning on making a tofu scramble for lunch and I’ve never added Daiya to one… I think I’m going to try that! Yum, can’t wait!

    Reply
  • 2. Shenandoah Vegan  |  April 15, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Amazing that the Scramble didn’t fall out of the sides of the bagel.

    Reply
    • 3. Amanda  |  April 18, 2010 at 8:18 pm

      Not so amazing when you think about how much daiya was gluing it together, haha!

      Reply
  • 4. Jessica  |  April 15, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    Oh, my. That looks incredible! Love the idea to add Daiya! So doing that next time I buy some.

    Reply
  • 5. miss rachel  |  April 20, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    mmmmmm…. Daiya! Well done, dear!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


