‘screaming for frozen treats.

April 18, 2010 at 8:16 pm 11 comments

As one of the new kids on the vegan train, some time has been spent (okay the entire time) finding ways to eat foods I love but veganized.  This has been pretty easy for most meals with so many cookbooks, blogs, and vegan products on the market.  However it does take time to explore and find what works for me and my taste buds.  As summer quickly approaches I couldn’t help but begin to worry about… ice cream season. I once burned my foot on a hot coal that I didn’t “see” as I chased after an ice cream truck on a beach.  So, this is one of those relationships that goes deep. I tried a few soy based ice creams and I just don’t like the soy flavor in my ice cream. I just don’t.

Lucky for me, the kind people over at Turtle Mountain generously bestowed me with five coupons to try some of their products.  So I had to try four frozen desserts, as well as replacements for products I use daily: “milk” and “creamer” (I know this adds up to six, I bought an extra).

Let’s start with the good stuff, frozen delights. Turtle Mountain’s frozen treats are all dairy free, and include So Delicious (Soy and now Coconut Milk too!), and Purely Decadent. They sent me a package describing all of their products, which are dairy-free, sweetened with agave, gluten-free, and certified vegan.  I earnestly tried but could not find their new So Delicious Coconut Milk brand flavors which sound amazing (and are not yet listed on their website): Cookies & Cream, German Chocolate, Coconut Almond Chip, Green Tea, Pomegranate Chip, and Swiss Almond.

I decided to try: Purely Decadent Mocha Almond Fudge, Purely Decadent Cookie Dough, Purely Decadent Turtle Trails, and Soy Delicious Raspberry.

Turtle Tracks is incredibly creamy and sweet.  There is an abundance of caramel swirls in one scoop, which add some sweet to the savory vanilla. It could probably benefit from a chocolate chip or two, but delicious if you enjoy a savory vanilla ice cream. Although I’m not typically a vanilla based person, I did enjoy this and it it really is a decadent ice cream.

Cookie Dough is chock full of cookie dough and chocolate chips in every spoonful, which is always true for a top-notch “loaded” ice cream. The cookie dough chunks are nearing a full teaspoon size and really quite delicious!  Once again the vanilla based ice cream is incredibly creamy, and is further amplified by all the goodies loaded inside.  I can absolutely see myself going back to this one again, I love any ice cream that has delicious treasures I can dig for.

Mocha Almond Fudge is by far the best of the three creamy coconut based treats.  It has an espresso chip flavor, and is spot on.  There are chocolate chips, nuts, and fudge swirls in a coffee flavored ice cream. D thought this  was the real thing!  We actually have gone out and bought more of it at D’s request!!  This is hands down the best non-dairy ice cream I’ve yet to encounter and it already has become a staple in our home.  THANK YOU FOR CREATING THIS MASTERPIECE!

Finally, the Raspberry sorbet. I call this my wild card selection because although I once was an ice cream fiend, I do appreciate an icy fruit treat. This flavor is creamier than a typical sorbet, with some raspberry swirls tucked inside, and was the most refreshing of them all.   I can see craving this sorbet on a hot summer night. Absolutely recommend checking it out.

After tasting each one, I asked D which was his favorite.  He had this groundbreaking statement to share, “They’re all good.” Well said.  I can’t help but pick favorites, and they would include Mocha Almond Fudge (major duh, it makes me jump for joy) and the Raspberry Soy Delicious.  But all in all, I am quite anxious to encounter their new flavors (particularly Cookies & Cream).  Be on the lookout friends!

My only criticism would be that they have a pretty fast melt-factor.  It seems like the moment the frozen goodness hits the bowl it begins to sit in a pool of itself, which is fine because most of us really don’t savor ice cream very long before it’s shoveled in.

As far as the Unsweetened So Delicious Coconut Milk, it is only 10 calories more than unsweetened Almond Milk and is much, much creamier. Personally, I never liked milk.  It always grossed me out and was too thick for me.  If you are missing some thick milk in your life – this is the product for you.  It’s rich, thick, and creamy. I can see it probably as a great base for a fruit smoothie, however they didn’t jive that much with my great monster (too creamy).  So give it a try for you milk impoverished folks!

The So Delicious French Vanilla Coconut Creamer is also a bit too too creamy for me.  I know, what did I expect?  It also has a more prominent coconut flavor than the unsweetened milk, and then it’s competitor Silk.  I’m sorry but I’m missing my Silk French Vanilla so bad, although this does fill it’s place a little. It is good, but it’s just not for me.

So, whose ready for summer? Last week was my spring break and we had a few 80-90 degree days and my friend and I decided to hit the beach. Well, the temperature dropped significantly (think 20+ difference and winds).  This is what we resorted to:

I guess we’re a bit too anxious for beach weather!  I haven’t been cooking this weekend, life has been so busy and hectic with the Yoga 20-in-30 challenge.  I have seven classes to go, and then my cooking will get back on track!  I can definitely see a difference in my strength and the tone in my body.  Unfortunately, my apt for baking and sweets has stuck to me as well and while I am firming up, I’m not shedding much with cardio.  Crossing my fingers that I can start to work those knees soon.

What’s your favorite thing to do when the weather warms up? I like to head outdoors as much as possible – either for a workout, a trip to Manhattan, or down to the beach. Anxiously awaiting!!

Entry filed under: dessert, product review, vegan. Tags: , , , , , , .

Virtuous tofu scramble. Speedy Vegan Curry Dinner

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Keri - IEatTrees  |  April 18, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    I have tried quite a few vegan ice “cream” products and must say I haven’t tasted one I really liked. Most of them seem too watery! I haven’t tried any of these though and that caramel looks pretty delicious!

    Reply
  • 2. Madeline  |  April 18, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    You lucky girl! I love Purely Decadent coconut milk ice cream. Turtle Trails is my favorite, but I can’t wait to try the new Green Tea flavor.

    And I’m crazy about the French Vanilla Creamer. Guess it could never be too creamy for me, especially in my chai tea lattes! 🙂

    Reply
    • 3. Amanda  |  April 19, 2010 at 10:10 pm

      You know go figure, I wrote that post last night and then today I kind of decided I like it a little (the french vanilla creamer). Maybe it’s an acquired taste! 🙂

      Reply
  • 4. JennShaggy  |  April 18, 2010 at 11:33 pm

    Thanks! I love when people enjoy my stories, too 🙂

    Oh man…this post just made me sooo hungry for some ice “cream”. That’s my favorite brand!

    Reply
  • 5. theresa  |  April 19, 2010 at 12:48 am

    We don’t get the same brands of ice cream over here, but our brands melt quickly too. But at first they are solid as a rock, and so hard to scoop. Then when they start melting, they’re gone in a flash. I thought it must be the soy, but your coconut milk ice creams did it too…

    Reply
    • 6. Amanda  |  April 19, 2010 at 10:09 pm

      Boo I didn’t realize this was just a characteristic of non-cream ice creams. Not the end of the world I suppose!

      Reply
  • 7. Shenandoah Vegan  |  April 19, 2010 at 7:12 am

    The ice cream pics were too tempting. I couldn’t look!

    Reply
    • 8. Amanda  |  April 19, 2010 at 10:09 pm

      Haha it’s because I’m trying to tempt you into eating more snacks!

      Reply
  • 9. Jessica  |  April 20, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    I’m not really an ice cream person, but I want to look for the coconut milk creamer. I use Silk in my coffee but I think I’d like to try the other — actually, you saying it’s too creamy makes me want to try it more!

    Once in a while, I’ll eat a Tofutti cutie (ice cream sandwich) and I like the cookie part, plus they’re pre-portioned into little sandwiches.

    Reply
    • 10. Amanda  |  April 22, 2010 at 9:02 am

      I have to say the creamer has grown on me now! It just took a few days for me to part from my Silk addiction I guess!

      Reply
  • 11. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  May 10, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    Oh WOW. DROOL. Question: How do you go about getting these free coupons, books, etc? I’ve been blogging for almost 2 years now and still haven’t gotten any such perks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


