Lotsa Fasta-Pasta.

April 20, 2010 at 8:56 pm 11 comments

Tonight’s post is another homage to Alan Roettinger’s Speed Vegan.  I literally walked in the door at 8:05, showered, and had dinner on the table at 8:45. I’m guestimating that his meal took almost exactly 30-minutes. On the menu for tonight was “Fasta Pasta E Fagioli“. Again, comprised of only 10-ingredients if you count salt and pepper, this recipe is fresh, low-maintenance and quick to prepare.

And it makes a lot. I actually didn’t have enough beans (again – I know now for sure a can of beans is 15oz and not 25oz), and still the sauce was very thick.  Even though the recipe note suggests otherwise, I just added another 1/2 cup of tomatoes to the mix to get things saucy. According to the book, this meal is under 400 calories for one serving, not too shabby for a pasta dinner! I know some people may be shaking their heads that I don’t have a salad pictured alongside, but when I expect a 30-minute meal, my time isn’t going one second over.  Even if it means missing my greens.  Hello, Lost night, time is of the essence!

The recipe called for either pinto or cannellini beans, and I went for the cannellini. I just like them better, and D doesn’t notice them as much.  He just hates beans.  In fact, when I told him what I was making for dinner, he said something along the lines of  “I’ll try it but it doesn’t mean I’ll like it”. The beans scare him off time and time again.  However after one or two mouthfuls, completely unsolicited, he shared “Wow, this is actually really really good.  I don’t even taste or see the beans.” In my book, that counts as a wildly successful meal.

It may be a bit too pasta-ish for a traditional pasta fagioli (or what I’m used to), but as a pasta dish it is hearty, filling, and flavorful.  I may or may not have shook in my last few shreds of Daiya into the mix as well.  Overall I’d have to say that Speed Vegan saved dinner for me for the second night in a row.  So far, I’m pretty sold on this book and very very excited to continue cooking things up from here!

Don’t expect another one tomorrow though.  I have clients and yoga and won’t be home until after 9:00 – which means I’ll be enjoying some of the abundant “Fasta Pasta E Fagioli” once more.  In other news I have decided officially that I do enjoy the Vega Whole Food Optimizer (Natural Flavor), possibly enough to buy a huge jug of it!  I’m not so much a fan of the chocolate flavor though.  As someone who has been struggling to find the “right” protein powder, I feel this was pretty important to share.

Is there any specific food or food genre someone in your family refuses to eat?  How do you get them to give it a try?

Entry filed under: dinner, speed vegan, vegan. Tags: , , , , , .

Speedy Vegan Curry Dinner Neti Love.

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  April 20, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    Too funny! I was just thinking about how I don’t eat green beans much because my fella doesn’t like them. We eat a lot of broccoli instead.

    More importantly, I love olives. He won’t. At all. And says if I pick them off his pizza he can still taste them. Sometimes we’ll do half-and-half but I never finish my half. Instead, I keep a jar in the fridge and eat with crackers sometimes. He says he can smell them on my breath. Really?

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  April 22, 2010 at 9:01 am

      I’m seeing a running boy theme here! D also is anti olives, and we have similar pizza issues! I never thought to just add them later… maybe that’ll be one less point of contention! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Keri - IEatTrees  |  April 20, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    Guestimating is pretty much my favorite word ever.
    Hmm.. I’m trying to think of something my husband won’t eat. Well, he has this really funny bad memory issue. He’ll forget he hates something, say Boca Burgers, and someone will be like, “Hey Chris, Want a Boca Burger?” I’ll even help him out with “You don’t like those.” “No, I think I do.” “Whatever you say.” “BLECK THIS IS AWFUL.” “Told you.”
    And you’d think by now he’d have figured out to just listen to me, but no. It happens all the time.

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  April 22, 2010 at 9:00 am

      Haha this is pretty good – my boyfriend is the same, except usually I’m trying to convince him he DID like a meal I made so that he will eat it again!

      Reply
  • 5. Danielle  |  April 20, 2010 at 11:37 pm

    Speed Vegan sounds like a perfect cookbook for a college vegan (like me!) I have 5908 cookbooks in my collection lol

    My family is very skeptical of any vegetable that isn’t broccoli or green beans. They’ll usually try it though…

    Reply
    • 6. Amanda  |  April 22, 2010 at 9:00 am

      I’m right there with you in the cookbook collection! I looove my cookbook shelf and having so many choices at my fingertips! I think this really would have been a great book to have in college, when time and ingredients can be an issue! At least they’ll try what you’ll make, that’s a step in the right direction!

      Reply
  • 7. Shenandoah Vegan  |  April 21, 2010 at 6:39 am

    I can’t imagine getting in at 8pm at night and having to cook dinner for someone. No comment on his appreciative comments.

    Reply
    • 8. Amanda  |  April 22, 2010 at 8:59 am

      Ah I know what your comment would be. I just need to clarify though, I cook for me usually – since I am the one with the picky palate/dietary needs. He usually has already eaten three bananas and a granola bar in my absence. He’s learning!

      Reply
  • 9. jd  |  April 21, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    I can’t believe I haven’t heard of Speed Vegan yet! I thought I was privy to all of the good vegan cookbooks already 🙂

    Anyway, that Pasta E Fagoli looks really fantastic – I love that it’s fast and still delicious. And, I happen to be a huge fan of beans, so that part is a big “plus” for me!

    As far as foods that my family won’t eat, some of them are a bit trepidations about the whole “vegan thing.” So, I try to solve that problem by offering up some type of vegan dessert; trust me, it works every time!

    Personally, I can’t stand tofu, but I do try to give it a go once in a while… I’m hoping that my tastes will eventually change (or I’ll discover a killer recipe that’ll change my mind).

    PS Thanks for the comment on my blog – I’m glad to have found yours!

    Reply
    • 10. Amanda  |  April 22, 2010 at 8:55 am

      You should check out this book! So far, so good! I also didn’t eat tofu as a vegetarian for 3-years, and just finally last year started experimenting with it and have learned to appreciate it (in small correctly cooked doses). Thank for stopping by! 🙂

      Reply
  • 11. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  May 10, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    That pasta e fagioli looks delicious; I love white beans.
    I’ve tried Vega and I like it ok, though only in smoothies where there’s other stuff to cover up the slight graininess =/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


