Neti Love.

April 22, 2010 at 6:59 pm 10 comments

I’m sitting here with a bit of a chill, some clogged painful ears, a stuffy nose, and a yucko throat. Welcome to working with Preschoolers 101! I actually have only had to use one sick day this year, so when I was up all night dealing with the above issues, I allowed myself a day to recover. I didn’t sleep in, because sleeping is nearly impossible with a stuffy head.  I just sat.  And then my Italian mother convinced me to go to the doctor to try and clear myself up before I have to get on a plane (which in the past was very, very disastrous).

So I sat at the doctors, feeling like a 12-year old, for the first time in awhile.  Usually I turn to more natural remedies but I want to get over whatever this is (sinusitis as it turns out).  Anyway, the real point of this is one of three things that the doctor  strongly recommended. A Neti Pot.  I feel like the Neti Pot and I have one of those college-level relationships.  Where you pass by each other, stealing glances, but never making the first move because you’re a bit too nervous.  Well, I finally got the push and made the move, purchasing a Neti Pot.  I’m sure you’ve heard everyone and their brother rave about how awesome it is (most notably Oprah).  Apparently this little device is great for clearing out the nasal passages and allergens.

Don’t worry, I’m not going to be giving any visual instructions.  I ended up buying the cheap Walgreens brand, which happens to be plastic.  I was so congested and in pain that I didn’t think twice about diving right in and pouring some warm saline water through my nose.  I LOVED IT. I know it sounds creepy and strange, I thought so before too.  But I have to say I am 110% in support of all things Neti Pot.  Honestly if you have any sinus issues at all I think it’s worth the $10 – $15 to give this a try.  All sorts of nasty gunk came aflowing out, which made me feel quite satisfied.

Moving on.  I forced myself to go to yoga today.  I only have a few days left to complete my challenge and if I didn’t go today the rest of my evenings would be an absolute drag. So since I didn’t go to work, and canceled my clients, I headed to the early class and just took it easy.  I was nowhere as strong or quick as I usually try to be, but I attended and stayed present and that’s what mattered. Three classes to go until I complete my 20-day challenge!

I also knew that I wanted something comforting for dinner.  Nothing like breakfast for dinner to bring on ultimate food lovin’. I reverted to the old favorite: pancakes. Once again we have some differing palates: I was in the mood for some banana pancakes ala Isla, while D prefers a more traditional fluffy pancake.  This of course was no problem for me, because I hadn’t made the Vegan Brunch traditional “Perfect Pancakes” yet and was curious about them as well!  So I made both.

The “Perfect Pancakes” were extremely fluffy, and cooked up quickly.  The recipe made eight perfect pancakes.  D said they were indeed “perfect” and “just like the real thing”. He ate almost the entire tall stack happily until his belly was full!  Thank you to Isa for coming up with a perfect D-friendly pancake!

The “Banana Pancakes” were not nearly as fluffy as the “Perfect Pancakes”, however they tasted fantastic.  They were sweet and slightly cinnamony, with a whole bunch of gooey bananas inside! I whipped up half a recipe, making four perfect banana-y circles of love.

Being sick stinks, especially when you know you’re going to force yourself into going to work feeling like yuck.  I hope all your Earth Day folks out there are gettin’ earthy with it, cause I pretty much spent all day indoors and got couchy with it.

What’s your favorite breakfast for dinner meal? I used to love french toast but recently since the switch to vegan-foods I’ve become all about the pancake!

Entry filed under: breakfast, vegan, vegan brunch. Tags: , , , , , .

Lotsa Fasta-Pasta. Cinco de-whyo did I go away?

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shenandoah Vegan  |  April 23, 2010 at 8:23 am

    Drink lots of hot tea.

    Reply
  • 2. Keri - IEatTrees  |  April 23, 2010 at 9:30 am

    Aww, glad the neti pot helped! My favorite meal for dinner is biscuits and vegan sausage gravy! Yum! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Jessi  |  April 23, 2010 at 9:46 am

    I have tried the neti-pot and the newer version the sinus rinse (by neil med). I LOVE them both, but prefer the sinus rinse. i like being able to lean straight over and not tilt my head. Glad you enjoyed it. My allergist told me about it years ago and i try and use it every day during allergy season or when the seasons change. twice a day when i feel a cold or allergy attack coming on. really is a life saver! since i started using it i haven’t had to take allergy medicines! which is a HUGE for me and i feel so free without the medicine head!

    Reply
  • 4. whydeprive  |  April 23, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    Hey – I just randomly stumbled across your blog.

    Ive never tried a neti pot before – Ive seen them and the whole idea scares me. lol

    Those banana pancakes look awesome! I love all things banana. If Im doing breakfast for dinner Im all about savory oats. Theyre just so good!

    Reply
  • 5. Tanya  |  April 23, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    Sorry you’re so sick. I am too….just flew to VT and back to visit with my 1 1/2 yr old nephew for the first time…..but came back with a nasty cold/flu. My nose is totally runny and I got the cough part this morning…..and I just saw one of those Neti pots on Dr. Oz……maybe I’ll go buy one tomorrow…if it ever stops pouring. Thanks for the tip 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Amanda  |  May 5, 2010 at 9:33 pm

      I hope you’ve recovered! Traveling with a clogged head/cold is the worst and is 100% what I was trying to avoid, I hope your ears didn’t get too clogged up and that if you got the netipot it helped!

      Reply
  • 7. Jessica  |  April 26, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    Ha! I just posted about pancakes, too. 🙂 Pancakes for dinner are so awesome.

    I LOVE my Neti pot, too! I have terrible seasonal allergies, and the Neti helps immensely. It took me awhile to get in the habit of using it regularly enough for it to make a big difference, but once I stopped being lazy, I fell in love with it! Glad it helped you! 🙂

    Reply
    • 8. Amanda  |  May 5, 2010 at 9:32 pm

      Once my sinuses have cleared up I’ve backed off, but I think it’s a good habit to be in! It’s so hard to muster up the energy to rinse my nose out (strange right?) but I think it made a big difference! Glad to hear others have had success as well!

      Reply
  • 9. ideaoforder  |  April 29, 2010 at 10:30 am

    I hated the neti pot the first few times I used it, but I’ve since come to love it. It’s funny, my in-laws are both medical people–and thus proponents of more “modern” medicines–and recently recommended a “sinus wash” for my incredibly stuffed-up brother. It turns out the “sinus wash” is just a slightly updated version of the neti pot–with no functional improvement, just made more institutional and less attractive.

    So three cheers for the neti pot!

    (my breakfast for dinner is currently vegan quiche, btw)

    Reply
    • 10. Amanda  |  May 5, 2010 at 9:31 pm

      I’ve heard of this new sinus wash from my colleagues, and actually feel like perhaps that’s less . . . intense? It’s something to def. consider to those who are a bit net-freaked!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


