Cinco de-whyo did I go away?

May 5, 2010 at 9:29 pm 9 comments

I feel like a terrible newby-bloggie, disappearing for two weeks with no apparent explanation.  Rather than go into detail about how life, yoga, illnesses and beautiful weather have interfered, I think it may be better appreciated to share some foods I’ve cooked up this week. Please just accept a million apologies for not visiting my daily blogs, I’ve felt a bit incomplete without my daily blog-reading and commenting, and as each day built up more unread I’ve built up some anxiety.  I know, pretty ridiculous. But I’m going to take it in stride and ease back into things. Forgive me!

So a few weeks ago the kind folks over at Chicago Soy Dairy sent me over their newly re-vamped Teese Mozzarella Vegan “cheese”.  While the packaging boasts the meltability and pizza-perfect topper, they have been promoting a Teese challenge encouraging people to use their new product to dream up some delicious recipes. This log has been burning a hole on my counter and I finally dreamt up a mozzarella-worthy (non pizza) concoction.  Enter: the Mediterranean Style Quesadilla.

In all of it’s shreddy glory! The cheese was soft and graded very, very easily.  I akin the texture to more of a Follow Your Heart cheese.  My quesadilla included:

  • grilled zucchini
  • sun dried tomatoes
  • kalamata olives
  • artichoke hearts (packed in water)
  • Teese mozzarella

It does get very, very melty!  It actually reminds me 100% of Follow Your Heart in flavor, but is way, way more melty and gooey! Honestly, I don’t think that my initial choice really showcased the flavor of the cheese, but it definitely demonstrated it’s texture capabilities.  I have about 1/2 of the tube left and have big plans in the future!  I want so badly to make pizza but want to really branch out, so stay tuned for the weekends cook-up!

Another side review I have been working on is a review of Speed Vegan by Alan Roettinger.  Before I review a book officially I try to cook up a handful of recipes to gain some perspective of what lies beyond the ingredient lists and table of contents. So far I’ve enjoyed two pretty delicious successes from this book, and was eager to try yet another.  So last night I cooked up “Mugwort Soba with Green Curry”.  With only one major substitution – instead of the green curry paste called for I used red curry paste.  Don’t shoot me down, but after two major supermarket stops to no avail, I had to settle somehow.

What’s the difference between green curry and red curry? Well I spent some time researching the topic, and came up with varying responses.  Some say that green versus red curry has to do with green Thai chilies versus red Thai chilies.  Some say red is spicier, other say green.  Are there any experts on the topic out there? Given the lack of consensus from my research, I decided that the difference couldn’t be too much and just followed the recipe with the red paste.  I also added about half a bag of frozen pepper medley strips, a box of frozen broccoli, and obligatory grilled tofu.

Results? This recipe makes a lot (enter D’s “that’s a lot of food”). But it was dee-lish-us! Really!  This was my first time cooking with Soba noodles, and I do have to comment that they get rather sticky quite quickly – so keep that in mind if you are adding items to the recipe like I did, it throws off timing.  Regardless, I think I did have dinner on the table in approximately 30-minutes and it was pretty fabulous.  I honestly felt like I was experiencing another made-at-the-restaurant meal at home!  D thought it was “pretty good” aside for his blatant dislike for all things spicy.  I, on the other hand, have developed quite an appreciation for mild spice and found that the coconut milk and curry paste complimented each other just perfectly, making for a creamy kick.  And I would absolutely suggest adding some veggies to the mix!  Hooray again for Speed Vegan!

I think that will wrap up my food post for today.  I feel a bit overwhelmed with life however I do love sharing and reading about food so I hope to stay on track here and catch up on all the lovely foodie updates.  I’ve started a few other random ventures that will have to wait until I have a bit more time and less work to do at 10:30 on a Wednesday.  Hey, at least most of the dishes are in the dishwasher!

I hope all you non-bogged down people had a margarita on the rocks for me, up until last year cinco de mayo was my holiday. I leave you with a final photo to pique your interest and ask, have you ever fallen off the blog wagon? Did you feel guilty too?


Entry filed under: book review, product review, speed vegan, thai, tofu, vegan. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Neti Love. Siete de Mayo: The evolution of the vegan taco.

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Keri - IEatTrees  |  May 5, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    You’re OKAY! I’m so relieved! I didn’t want to be annoying and act concerned on your last post, but I was hoping you were just busy!
    I have to be honest, I haven’t even read this post yet- I’ll scroll back up and read now, I just had to say I’m glad to see all is well first! 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  May 7, 2010 at 9:13 pm

      Aw your the sweetest 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. whydeprive  |  May 5, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    I think red curry is the more spicy of the two. I’ve never tasted them side by side though so I could be wrong. They taste the same and completely different all at the same time. Does that make sense?

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  May 7, 2010 at 9:15 pm

      i think I get it! I’ve actually tasted and loved green curry before, and I have to say they do taste different yet the same haha.

      Reply
  • 5. The Ordinary Vegetarian  |  May 6, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    Welcome back! I have been guilty recently of only 2 -3 posts a month for the last couple months, and I felt really lousy about it. I did keep up with the reading part though. I realized that too many of my posts were starting with an apology about how long it had been since my last post. I resolved to just post when I can and no longer feel bad about it. Now look at me, I’ve posted twice already this week. I totally reverse psychologied myself! (and made up a new word!) At any rate, good to have you back.

    Loving on that curry dish! I much prefer red to green anyway, but if you want to try green I recommend going to an Asian market. I get cans of it for .50 each. Way cheaper than the Asian isle at the supermarket. My first few tries on soba noodles were sticky and kinda mushy, but I have perfected them. Boil the water, stir in the noodles, and once it returns to a boil start the timer for 3 minutes. After three minutes drain and rinse your noodles with cold water, and set aside. Toss the noodles in with the dish at the very end just to heat them up.

    Ok I’m done writing a book in your comments section now 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Amanda  |  May 7, 2010 at 9:23 pm

      Haha I totally appreciate the book comment, they are my favorite! Thanks for the info on the noodles, and it’s so nice to hear other sort of fall off the wagon!! I think the only reason i’ve slacked on reading is because my google reader has about 2000 entries and it makes me nervous! Hopefully I can get a bit caught up this weekend! 🙂 Off to update and get on that homework!!

      Reply
  • 7. Katherine: What About Summer?  |  May 6, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    everything in moderation; breaks from blogging are great, no worries.
    quesadillas are great too and I’d love a slice of yours yum!
    Katherine

    Reply
    • 8. Amanda  |  May 7, 2010 at 9:25 pm

      Good point! Maybe my expectations were a bit too high for what I needed versus wanted to do. Thanks for stoppin by and for givin’ my sad little quesadillas some loving!

      Reply
  • 9. Michal  |  May 15, 2010 at 9:48 am

    MMM I love quesadillas! I made one using Daiya on cinco de mayo too! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


