Mother’s Day Cupcake Parade

May 9, 2010 at 1:16 pm 7 comments

Next week I’m going to be making cupcakes for a bridal shower, so I dedicated last night to doing a run through for taste, time, and technique. Working with fondant and new recipes can always be stressful and I decided with my work on display it would be best to do a run through – and have some dessert for Mother’s Day (a one-two punch).

The bride-to-be requested cookies & cream cupcakes and mint cupcakes.  Cookies & Cream are probably up in my Top 10 all time favorite cupcakes, while mint may be all the way at the bottom.  Still, her wish is my command.  My friend Sarah came over to assist (even though I won’t have her help next week, booh) and we got to working for about 4 1/2 hours on cupcake loving. Before I unveil our accomplishments (in terrible lighting), let me add we learned a few important lessons:

  1. The cupcake filling tip does not do well with chunks of Oreos.
  2. Method 2 for filling cupcakes makes fondant lay bumpy.
  3. Too much Crisco makes fondant too shiny.

Cookies & Cream cupcake filled with Cookies & Cream butter cream the old fashioned way.

Mint Chocolate Cupcake with the tip filling.

So after four and a half hours, I was absolutely cupcaked out (in a good way).  I’m 80% proud and 20% nervous about the cupcakes not being perfect enough next week.  I’m whipping out more flower cutters and thinking of more designs to take them up a notch (the color scheme will be aqua, red, and white).  So stay tuned for those!  I’m sad to say the cookies & cream were a bit dense and muffin like, but the butter cream really evens it out nicely.  I am shocked to say that the mint cupcakes were delicious.  I don’t really believe mint+cupcake is a winning combo, but these really were out of this world – D commented “these are really worth mentioning”. I hope the bride to be thinks so too!  I’m carting all of these to my mamacita’s for dinner tonight, hopefully I can get a good review from the gang as well.

Happy Mother’s Day to all you mama’s out there!

Entry filed under: baking, cupcakes, fondant. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Siete de Mayo: The evolution of the vegan taco. Creamy Teesey Asparagus [Barley] Risotto

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hangry Pants  |  May 9, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    So beautiful and tasty I’m sure! If you need help w/ the real order let me know! I can’t make fancy flowers, but I can help. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Jessica  |  May 10, 2010 at 9:39 am

    These are gorgeous!! So beautiful & perfect for Spring! I’m sure they’re delicious, too. I love Cookies & Cream cupcakes!

    Reply
    • 3. Amanda  |  May 10, 2010 at 9:22 pm

      Thank you! I do love cookies & cream – but the mint were quite a success at work!

      Reply
  • 4. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  May 10, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    Those mint chocolate cupcakes are unbelievably beautiful!

    Reply
    • 5. Amanda  |  May 10, 2010 at 9:22 pm

      Thank you!! Well worth the time 🙂

      Reply
  • 6. Michal  |  May 15, 2010 at 9:47 am

    Your cupcakes look amazing, I wish I could work with fondant. I have really wanted to for a while now, and with my graduation party coming up (im making all my own cupcakes and things) i really want to wow everybody! How did you become so skilled? Would you mind sharing your method? 🙂

    Reply
    • 7. Amanda  |  May 18, 2010 at 7:10 pm

      Michal! I honestly am not quite so skilled, but what helped me lose some baking fear was attending cake decorating classes (I took the wilton classes). I really recommend giving them a shot – if you have a good instructor you can learn so much!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


