Jasmine Caprese Risotto

May 11, 2010 at 9:08 pm 3 comments

It seems as though I’m on a bit of a risotto roll-o this week, and not in the most traditional sense.  Nope, no arborio rice to find in these recipes.  With a chunk of Teese mozzarella left to polish off I scoured my pantry for a simple dinner.  With just a cup of uncooked jasmine rice and  a handful of fresh basil on hand, all I needed to add to this recipe was a cup of quartered  grape tomatoes.

And maybe even a simply sauteed onion to start if all off made it’s way into the mix.

Oh yes, it is as creamy and delicious as it looks. It’s pretty much a new take on an old favorite “summer pasta” I’ve grown up with – minus a plethora of crushed garlic, which I didn’t have on hand. D wanted to know “what the creamy stuff was” – more evidence supporting the creamy nature of this product!  He was mostly confused that I had put rice in his pasta dish though.

I think I can 100% say I am a fan of the Teese Mozzarella product. I still have about half an inch left of the tube and hope that it preserves long enough to make it onto a pizza.  How can one truly assess the validity of a mozzarella equivalent without the aide of the go-to-meal of choice?  Right.  So I’ll see what I can do this way – perhaps a pitta pizza will make it’s way into my life this week.

Vegans out there, what’s your favorite cheese equivalent out there?  I always like to try and compare new products!

Check out that tupperware in action!  It’s called “Cup-a-Cake” and I picked two of these up at Crate and Barrel a few weeks ago and finally got to test it out at work today!

I LOVE THIS!!  My cupcake actually fit perfectly and was completely preserved and airtight until delivery!

I have tons of ants in my pants from drinking a 4:00 coffee – totally out of character for me but with working until 7:00 on a gray day I was totally needing an energy jump! I’ve been using some of it to catch up on blog reading and am now totally craving a big chocolately brownie – maybe a project for the weekend.

Happy Lost night – can’t wait to hear all the theories!

Entry filed under: cupcakes, dinner, italian, product review, vegan. Tags: , , , , , , .

Creamy Teesey Asparagus [Barley] Risotto Lessons in cupcakin’.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Keri - IEatTrees  |  May 11, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    Okay, that cupcake case is officially awesome. Could you send me a few of those cupcakes so I can pick some up and test them out?… 😉

    Reply
  • 2. whydeprive  |  May 12, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    I love the cupcake holder. Total genious.

    Reply
  • 3. vegantickles  |  May 12, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    Individual cupcake holder? I want one or two or three or, you get the picture.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


