Domesticity is in the details.

May 17, 2010 at 9:12 pm 8 comments

If you’ve lived in apartments for almost six years as I have, you probably know how difficult it can be to truly customize your space and attain the look and vibe affordably. Not counting college dorms, my current apartment is my 5th apartment in six years.  I’m sure you can visualize that insanity that all that moving has done to my decorating abilities.  I can say out of the five apartments, only one truly visually became what I imagined it could be – and I always loved returning home to my perfectly decorated home.

Of course, having moved across country meant leaving all those pieces of furniture behind, and starting fresh with a small wallet.  So the past year D and I have lived minimally – he joked for awhile that our apartment was so blah that it seemed like we just moved in months after we actually had.  The sparce decor has begun to wear on me, and I’ve made it my “weekend project” to room by room close in the comfort that I associate with being home.

Targets: Bedroom and bathroom.

Rules: Must keep major furniture, or anything expensive to quickly replace.  Remembering, Rome wasn’t built in a day, and exercising some patience.

About a month ago I started to visually map out an idea of what I envisioned for each room – neither really reached my 100% satisfaction, but it helped to have a jumping point. So after being cooped up for 2 days with a stomach virus, I ventured over to Marshalls to “browse” their lamp selection.  I came home with a whole lot more for what I consider a steal – and a great jumping point to get my design bug rolling.

Find #1: Fake Grass!  I have been searching far and wide for the “right” one.  For just $9.99 it was perfect and adds the right touch of green to our mostly brown bathroom.

Find #2: Green leaf hand towels.  As you may be about to find out, when D and I moved in together I was on a bit of a brown “safari” kick and purchased both towels and a a duvet in a similar scheme.  Although our shower curtain is currently unpictured, it is most brown and gold leaves on a creme background.  I’ve been looking to tie in a new color and obviously went with green.  So when I saw these hand towels at $5.99 a piece I had to grab two to punch up the green. I love them, and they happen to be the same brand as my towels which is just an added bonus.

Find #3 & 4: Teal (turquoise?) bedside lamps – and some fake white roses. Like I said, I’m trying to incorporate some more colors into our bedroom so I thought some green and turquoise would add a nice balance.  At $29.99 for the lamps (one on each side) and $12.99 for the flowers, I’m very happy with these color choices!  I’ll unveil the ‘full look’ when we finish painting our bedroom and hanging art.

Find #5: The glass vase and fake lemons.  We have this bistro table that sits between our kitchen and dining room, and it’s known to collect a lot of my kitchen junk.  I hoped to brighten up the space a little and remind myself to not throw all my junk on any available surface.  The jar was $6.99 and the lemons were $6.99 as well.

I think everything was under $120.00, and even though they are only a handful of items they’ve already brightened up the spaces they’re in.

These projects are going to continue until I’m satisfied to move onto the office, living room, and dining room.  In our bedroom we still need to finish painting, get curtains, and hang artwork. The bathroom just needs some art and I’ll call it a day.  There are a few pieces on craiglist I’m eyeing for other rooms but I think the key is to stick to one (or two) rooms at a time to really complete them before moving on.

Any tips on scoring good deals?

Entry filed under: decorating, design. Tags: , , .

Lessons in cupcakin’. Cauliflower Curry Confessions

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mem4dr  |  May 18, 2010 at 8:29 am

    I am moving in two weeks to a new apartment and like you, I want to add some style without getting any new pieces of furniture or new bedding. I don’t have any brilliant ideas – I’m planning to go to some thrift stores to get some old china plates. I plan to break the plates and use the pieces to make a mosaic tabletop for a table I already have.

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  May 18, 2010 at 7:07 pm

      Depending on where you live I’d say craigslist, craigslist, craigslist! If you are willing to drive a little it is worth the time 110%! I’ve sold some great things when I had to move across teh country, and know there are many many more people who do the same all over! Check it out!

      Reply
  • 3. Tami (Vegan Appetite)  |  May 18, 2010 at 10:33 am

    Hi Amanda,
    I really love your decorating style. That fake grass really brightens up the bathroom and I never would have thought of it. It’s especially cool since I tend to kill plants…..

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  May 18, 2010 at 7:06 pm

      Haha thanks, I know the fake grass seems silly but I just have had this desire to throw it in there for some time – plus the cat won’t attack it (I hope)!

      Reply
  • 5. Hangry Pants  |  May 18, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    It’s really hard decorating with a boy in mind, especially a boy with opinions about how things should look that are v. different from your own. 🙂 Everything looks lovely. So did the cupcakes!!!!

    Reply
    • 6. Amanda  |  May 18, 2010 at 7:05 pm

      Totally agree! When we purchased furniture I definitely budged, a lot. I think he thought he did too. But now that it’s getting to details and making it become more “homey” – I’m the one doing the shopping, so what I say goes! Thanks for the compliments and offering your help again! 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Leah @ Why Deprive?  |  May 18, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    I’m having the same problem with decorating my place. I’ve been here almost a year but was never sure if I would stay. My bare walls just started to get depressing. I picked up a few little pictures for $5 each at a costco type store. They helped a lot.

    Reply
    • 8. Amanda  |  May 21, 2010 at 8:11 pm

      Craigslist! I totally recommend it to anyone – you can update so many areas of your home with high end furniture/etc. for such a steal!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


