Lessons in cupcakin’.

May 17, 2010 at 7:05 pm 7 comments

Just when I thought I was back on a roll with my blogging, I caught the virus that has been running rampant through my preschool – stomach flu. Definitely not how I wanted to spend my Thursday/Friday – especially since Saturday I had planned on baking all day for my friend’s twin sister’s bridal shower which was 2 hours away on Sunday.  Although I had done a run through last weekend, and spread much of my work out over a full day this time, I would estimate I spent about 8 hours on 50 cupcakes. That is something to really consider if I ever decide to sell cupcakes out of the friend circle.

Anyway, a re-baking of mint & cookies and cream took place – with a new color kick to it.  The theme of the bridal shower was “1950’s Retro”, and the color scheme was red, white, and teal.  The decorating experienced has allowed me to fully appreciate the phrase “a labor of love”.

Lesson #1: Time is unequal to money, especially when self-employed.

Lesson #2: It takes an entire jar of red coloring gel to turn fondant, well, red. And countless hours of kneading and waiting.

Lesson #3: Rolling out fondant too thin shows every.single.bump. on the top of the cupcake.

Lesson #4: There are A LOT of bumps on the NJ Turnpike.

So without further ado, I present my weekend encompassing  cupcake project.

Apparently they went over quite well with the crowd -and even if she was just being kind, that’s all I can really ask for.

What’s the longest amount of time you’ve spent baking?

Entry filed under: baking, cupcakes, fondant. Tags: , , , , , , .

Jasmine Caprese Risotto Domesticity is in the details.

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Keri - I Eat Trees  |  May 17, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    They’re awesome!! Those are my favorite colors, although I bet you’re sick of looking at them for awhile… 😉 For my son’s first birthday I made all of the cupcakes into Elmo and Cookie Monster heads and stayed up all night doing it. I worked in a bakery setting where we made tons and tons of cakes for all kinds of events and weddings, but it’s shocking how much more work it is to do it all in your own kitchen as opposed to the bakery/more industrial setting!

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  May 18, 2010 at 7:09 pm

      Aww thanks! I do love the colors and I wish I had the invitation on me to show how perfectly they complimented the theme! It’s true that when you’re baking alone, as much as I may love it, it’s awful time consuming! The things we do for those we love, right?!

      Reply
  • 3. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  May 18, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Those are so festive! I bet your friend’s sister (and everyone else) loved them.

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  May 18, 2010 at 7:06 pm

      Thanks! Their family seemed to love them, probably took more photos than I did! I just hope the flavors were up to par!

      Reply
  • 5. Jessica  |  May 20, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    Wow, your cupcake tree is beautiful! I wish I knew how to create cupcakes like that! I love the color combination.

    Reply
    • 6. Amanda  |  May 21, 2010 at 8:19 pm

      Aww thank you! Just practice at home, I’m still practicing I think like anything, the more we do the better we get right?

      Reply
  • 7. DJ Karma  |  May 20, 2010 at 11:35 pm

    Cupcakes are gorgeous! A lot of work, but great way to share your talents with everyone.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


