Cauliflower Curry Confessions

May 19, 2010 at 9:54 pm 9 comments

I  have a confession to make:  I’m not a cauliflower person. However please put my bias aside and decide for yourself if this dish is for you. It’s been awhile since I’ve shared what I’ve been eating, or at least it feels that way to me.  With the changing of the weather from cold to warm, my desire to hibernate in the kitchen and conjure up comforting meals slows begins to transition into a desire to eat cold, fresh, and quick fixes. However somehow it rained like crazy yesterday and I ended up whipping up a Roasted Cauliflower Curry.

  • 1 medium head of cauliflower
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 block pressed firm tofu, cubed
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1-2 tsp. curry powder
  • 1-2 tsp. ground giner

The whole meal was relatively simple to prepare. Set the oven for 450 degrees, and set up a little olive oil in a frying pan to brown up a chopped onion before tossing in a mix of curry and ground ginger. Next toss the onion curry with the cauliflower and a chopped block of pressed tofu until the cauliflower is well coated in curry.  Spray a baking pan and spread the cauliflower/tofu/onion mixture and spray once more before placing in the oven.  Bake for 10 minutes, then turn over the roasting pieces before baking for another 10 minutes.  Should take between 20 and 30 minutes until all veggies and tofu look nice and roasty, and then it’s ready for eating!

I served my cauliflower with some instant brown rice – however you’d be 110% better off with a bit of brown basmati rice.  The meal itself was pretty good, but I wasn’t in love with it.  If you like Indian and cauliflower – this may be worth trying, as it is incredibly simple, spicy, and flavorful.  Unfortunately, the cauliflower and I didn’t fall in love after this dinner affair and I ended up packaging up the leftovers and bringing them to a coworker who fervently expressed her love for the curry medley.

The choice is yours.

Tomorrow is field day at the school I work at so I’m obviously going to end my day with some much needed yoga.  On deck for the blog tomorrow? Sharing my new favorite coffee with you and my home decorating scavenger hunt update!

It’s official friends, we’ve made it over hump day – and half way through May. Oh goodness.

Entry filed under: curry, dinner, tofu, vegan. Tags: , , , , , .

Domesticity is in the details. Summer un-BBQ Cooking

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fresh and Fit  |  May 20, 2010 at 7:12 am

    This cauliflower recipe looks great! I have been looking for a new way to cook this veggie! Thanks!

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  May 21, 2010 at 8:12 pm

      Hope you like cauliflower more than I do and enjoy it! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Keri - I Eat Trees  |  May 20, 2010 at 8:54 am

    That sounds good! I like cauliflower, so I’d probably like it. Looking forward to reading about your new favorite coffee… I’ve been out of coffee for weeks *gasp*, and desperately want a cup!

    Reply
  • 4. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  May 20, 2010 at 10:52 am

    It took me a LONG time to like cauliflower, but I finally [I think] I do. Roasted is probably my favorite preparation for it.

    Reply
    • 5. Amanda  |  May 21, 2010 at 8:12 pm

      Right? Glad I’m not the only one! At least I love broccoli!

      Reply
  • 6. Jessica  |  May 20, 2010 at 11:22 am

    I like roasted cauliflower just with olive oil and salt. Or in a pureed soup. I’d be up for venturing into Indian spices, too, though, and baking it right with some tofu would really speed things up.

    Reply
    • 7. Amanda  |  May 21, 2010 at 8:13 pm

      Hmm a soup may be the winner for me to try it once more!!

      Reply
  • 8. Tes  |  May 21, 2010 at 7:34 am

    I love deep fry cauliflower and stir fry them with garlic and ginger. But this recipe seems healthy and yummy. I can’t wait to try it.

    Reply
    • 9. Amanda  |  May 21, 2010 at 8:23 pm

      Tes, I think you have nailed it for me – deep frying may be the best option!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


