Best Veggie Burger in Town. Period.

May 23, 2010 at 8:01 pm 6 comments

Sundays are not my favorite weekend day.  Saturday blooms with all the potential of freedom, no boundaries, and endless possibilities for both day and evening.  Sundays are far more limiting, and often are used for more “productive” tasks such as food shopping, cleaning, and laundry. Today was the latter, as per usual when the sun isn’t quite shining to it’s fullest potential.  Following an early trip to the grocery store with the majority of the town’s population, I spent the remainder of my day  painting our bedroom (for the record – still not finished). I did manage to take some time out to eat some yummy foods.

During my Trader Joes run last week I picked up a new-to-me veggie burger, “Organic Tofu Veggie Burgers”, that proclaimed its “Vegan”-ness right on the cover. I ate one at Field Day this week and saved the remaining patty for… today! I also pulled out a pack of American Flavor Soy Slices – this is the second time I’ve bought these and had yet to open the package and try them.  With their shelf life quickly approaching it’s end, today was as good a day as ever to give it a whirl. I paired the two over 1/2 a toasted whole wheat bagel.

I pretty much have to say – and this is major – this is the BEST veggie burger I have ever tasted. Ever. EVER EVER EVER.  Like between the coffee and these burgers, it was really difficult for me to not run back to TJ’s and restock both products.  The veggie burger was slightly greasy, but mostly crunchy!  The flavor was not soy-ridden (as some veggie burgers can be) and definitely screamed more “veggie” than “tofu”.  Winner, winner, winner! The cheese melted nicely, however it is still hare to say whether the flavor was spot on or not – I’ll have to try another meal that really showcases the cheese.

I’ve got a delicious dinner to share with ya’ll – well a simply delicious recipe is more like that.  But it’s going to have to wait, because I have a 2.5 hour date scheduled with my television that starts…. NOW.

Entry filed under: product review, vegan. Tags: , , , .

D’s Green Scene Italian Sunday tradition.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  May 24, 2010 at 9:12 am

    Wow, I always passed those burgers up, I won’t next time!

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  May 24, 2010 at 11:46 am

      Soo soo worth it! I’m drooling right now thinking about it over my boring lunch.

      Reply
  • […] Amanda’s Domestic Adventures – Best Veggie Burgers in Town Period […]

    Reply
  • 4. Shenandoah Vegan  |  May 24, 2010 at 11:58 am

    They ain’t cheap though. That’s why I never even considered buying them. I’m going to TJ’s tomorrow, I’ll look them over.

    Reply
    • 5. Amanda  |  May 24, 2010 at 10:23 pm

      Esp. considering they are 2 per pack. If they are freezable though, I will probably stock up. In the summer I need some good griller alternatives! Curious to hear what you think!

      Reply
  • 6. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  May 24, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    Ahh, I’d kill for TJ’s in my area!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


