D’s Green Scene

May 23, 2010 at 9:57 am 7 comments

Whereas I like to keep busy finding ways to improve our indoor living, D’s niche is our outdoor living.  Last year he took to our outdoor balcony and grew us herbs and vegetables aplenty, all from seeds.

Last year's ledge herb garden.

In fact, he often shares that one of his dreams is to develop a community co-op/garden.  While that may be a ways away, further away than our own “real” garden, since spring has arrived he’s been slowly building this year’s outdoor greenery paradise. I’ve been allotted two plant boxes for my “half sun” (booh!) flowers.

Above is last year’s version from Ikea, which we just loved so much that we returned this year to buy some more. The shape this year is no longer square, but round, and goes for $14.99. Obviously we’re still working on filling up the box.  And I still have yet to work my wonders on, uh, flower box arrangements and positions on the balcony.  But this is D’s space, so I let him arrange and position his boxes as he pleases.

D's un-finished workspace.

Today we’re going to be planting the herbs in big pots, so we’ll hold off on pictures of dirt in a planter until we have some sprouts peaking out.  But its a good segue to reintroduce a Christmas present I bought for D this year.  Gardening indoors has also become one of his hobbies, where he nurtures ferns, snake plants, spider plants, and various carnviorous plants.  To further expand his indoor gardening capabilities, I bought him an AeroGarden, specifically the AeroGarden3, which has three pods.

The kit came with basil, parsley, and oregano.  The first time we set it up, we had success with all herbs but the basil soon took over and the remaining herbs could not keep up.  The second time around D planted our own seeds in their pods, and again, the basil really just shot up and overtook the entire light. Which is where we are today.

The aero garden sits on D’s desk, where nearly all of it’s incoming light is from the bulb provided.  While our basil plant many not be the bushiest, it continually produces enough basil for my cooking needs, and I haven’t had to buy basil in months.  If once per week I can take 1-2cups of basil off the plant, it thrives.  This product is worth it’s weight in basil alone.

These photos were after I had picked off all the large leaves for last night’s dinner, and as you can see – there will be plenty more for this week’s cooking. Hopefully with our outdoor herb collection soon underway, we can make a lot more nearly 100% homemade meals, such as what I made for D for dinner:

What’s your summer garden going to include? Last year we had fantastic success with mint (mojitos!) and rosemary.  We always try our luck at scallions, grape tomatoes, basil, and chives.

Entry filed under: garden. Tags: , , , .

Summer un-BBQ Cooking Best Veggie Burger in Town. Period.

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shenandoah Vegan  |  May 23, 2010 at 10:57 am

    Gorgeous pizza!!! Mr SV is making pizza tonight too. ‘LOST’ series finale — I just hope they explain why Desmond had to keep hitting that computer key while stuck in the hatch for three years.

    (Also, I think you mean ‘niche’ not ‘nitch’?)

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  May 24, 2010 at 11:45 am

      Mr. SV’s pizza looks far more delicious than mine. I bet he used fresh tomatoes!

      Reply
      • 3. Shenandoah Vegan  |  May 24, 2010 at 11:55 am

        Nah, your’s looks a thousand times better.

  • 4. whydeprive  |  May 23, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    I was wondering about the AeroGarden. Especially after I killed my poor herbs. I don’t get enough light down in my little basement suite.

    Reply
    • 5. Amanda  |  May 24, 2010 at 11:45 am

      I totally recommend it for dark rooms – as you can see, D keeps his desk area pretty dark and the basil still blooms!

      Reply
  • 6. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  May 24, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    Oh wow, that pizza looks gooey and greasy and…great!

    I’ve always wished I had a green thumb :]

    PS—Be sure to enter my blog giveaway by tomorrow morning!

    Reply
    • 7. Amanda  |  May 24, 2010 at 10:24 pm

      Totally don’t have a green thumb, that is ALL D! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


