Hawaiian Shish, without the Kebab

May 24, 2010 at 9:05 pm 5 comments

Like any new vegetarian, I was initially grasping for resources everywhere I turned. Four years ago I subscribed to Vegetarian Times, and have continuously been pulling recipes and haphazardly choosing which to attempt. Up until this year, I paid little attention to whether the (V) followed a recipe. So now, I read through the recipes with a keener eye. Under this month’s “Veg Lite” section they spotlighted Donna Klein’s Supermarket Vegan: 225 Meat-Free, Egg-Free, Dairy-Free Recipes for Real People in the Real World, and included four divine sounding recipes from the book.

In particular, I was struck by the headlining recipe, “Hawaiian-style Sweet-and-Sour Roasted Pineapple and Bell Peppers”.   The recipe won me over with only 9 ingredients, only two of which I had to purchase. Hi? Sign me up!  Ingredients included cubed pineapple, red bell pepper, red onion, sesame oil, and a few extra sweeteners and seasonings.  Cook time with prep was about 40-minutes, with 30-minutes of downtime while the veggies roasted.

All mixed up before roasting.

All sorts of roasty and toasty going on in there!

Served atop jasmine rice. I know it’s not the healthiest choice, being white, however the brown jasmine rice takes literally twice as long to cook and I was feeling a bit hungray at 8:00 when I got to prepping.  So quick cooking white jasmine rice won me over, so sue me!

This recipe pretty much reminded me of sweet Hawaiian shish kebab, minus the skewer and tofu bits.  Time didn’t allow me to throw in the tofu, nor did the recipe call for it, but this meal is so freaking delicious on it’s own that the tofu may just steal some of the limelight if included.

When I presented D with dinner he commented “Who in the world thought that cooked pineapple was a good idea?”.  I showed him!  The pineapple and peppers were perfectly balanced  with the flavors of toasted sesame and red onions, and each bite sent sensations through the sweet and savory receptors in my tongue.  So , so good and I cannot wait to eat this for lunch tomorrow – D even (hold onto your seats) went back for seconds.  He may have pushed some extra pineapple chunks to the side, but he ate it up and even agreed it was “good”.  I give it more than good, it was sensational.  Mostly because it was easy and delicious.

I actually own another book by Donna Klein, Mediterranean Vegan Kitchen, of which I’ve only cooked one or two recipes that I cannot recall.  Hopefully I’ll pull that out again sometime soon, especially if those recipes are anything as simple and delicious as this recipe.


Entry filed under: dinner, vegan, vegetables. Tags: , , , , .

Italian Sunday tradition. Late night blueberry cravings.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MarathonVal  |  May 24, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    That looks delicious!!! How perfect for summer!

    Reply
  • 2. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  May 25, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    That looks so good! I’m not a huge fan of cooked fruit either, but pineapple is one that I do like warm.

    Reply
  • 3. JennShaggy  |  May 25, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    Thank you so much! I love when people let me know that they enjoy my stories and recipes.

    This dish looks so colorful and delicious. I can’t wait to give it a try 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  May 30, 2010 at 9:18 pm

      Seriously, you make me laugh out loud. Not many writers can do that! 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. siennasista  |  April 15, 2011 at 12:55 am

    I’m trying this out this weekend!! Looks delicious and I’m struggling trying to find good, quick veggie recipes! You’re a lifesaver!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


