Late night blueberry cravings.

May 25, 2010 at 10:52 pm 13 comments

I’ve been craving blueberry muffins in a big, bad way lately.  Like out of control. So at 10:30 tonight I couldn’t shake the feeling any longer, and started scrambling through my book collection for a vegan recipe, only to find that none of my serious “go to” books had one! All had a weird variation with lemons or apple sauce, but not the pure sugar and margarine version I was after. So I turned to my tried and true, google search.  Which took me nearly directly to  this recipe from VegWeb.

I had all the ingredients it called for, and just set right to work.  The only modifications I used were adding 1/4 cup chopped strawberries (only had 3/4c blueberries on hand), and adding 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract – it begged for this addition.

Fresh out of the oven.

Blueberry muffin.

Strawberry muffin.

All ready for breakfast!

I only used half of the crumbly topping the recipe called for, but I wish I had packed it all on for a truly over the top sugary, crumbly muffin. But these are ROCKING, SO moist inside, and absolutely FLUFFY!.  Totally take the cake and satisfy my craving, can’t wait to rotate them into my breakfast tomorrow morning.

D shoved one in his mouth, and after screaming about how hot they are said they were pretty damn good.  We didn’t even discuss the “V” word. Now that’s perfection.

So future thoughts? These make 12 fairly bumpy muffins, in the future I’d use my 6-muffin pan and all the topping.  I’ll probably be on a sugar high for hours though, nothing like being at the same level as the kids you work with though!

Entry filed under: baking, vegan. Tags: , , , .

Hawaiian Shish, without the Kebab Unexpected expenses.

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Keri - I Eat Trees  |  May 25, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    Those look SOO good. Mmm.. muffin envy!

    Reply
  • 2. Shenandoah Vegan  |  May 26, 2010 at 7:16 am

    They really do look great!

    Reply
  • 3. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  May 26, 2010 at 9:57 am

    Mmm, love me some blueberry muffins! Berry season is the best.
    I made blueberry streusel bars from The Joy of Vegan Baking recently; I’ll be posting those soon :]

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  May 30, 2010 at 9:18 pm

      Those sound delicious as well! I could probably eat strawberries all day when they are ripe. Makes being healthier so much easier!

      Reply
  • 5. Eric  |  May 26, 2010 at 11:06 am

    ahh these make me want to make blueberry muffins tonight! 😀

    Reply
    • 6. Amanda  |  May 30, 2010 at 9:13 pm

      I hope you didn’t hold back!!

      Reply
  • 7. Katie  |  May 27, 2010 at 8:46 am

    Those muffins look awesome! The topping is the best part, I agree.

    Reply
  • 8. 101natural  |  May 28, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    With his title, you made me run and grab my oatmeal pistachio dried fig cookies I made yesterday… love the muffins!!!

    Reply
    • 9. Amanda  |  May 30, 2010 at 9:13 pm

      Homemade goodies can be so good, but oh so tempting!

      Reply
  • 10. BitterSweet  |  May 29, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    Way to tackle those cravings! I probably would have gone the lazy route and just had blueberry jam on toast, but man, does this look a million times better.

    Reply
    • 11. Amanda  |  May 30, 2010 at 9:12 pm

      Haha usually blueberry jam may have done the trick, but when you haven’t baked in almost two weeks – I’ll bet you’d cave too!

      Reply
  • 12. Lea  |  May 31, 2010 at 10:21 am

    Hi Amanda-

    This is my favorite muffin recipe too! Next time try it without the vanilla- you will be pleasantly surprised. I almost added some too, but decided to follow the recipe and I get rave reviews over these muffins. They also freeze well.

    Reply
    • 13. Amanda  |  June 1, 2010 at 6:24 am

      Thanks for the info, esp. that they freeze well. I like to have them with a smoothie for breakfast and they don’t last long enough for the week – now they will 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


