Summer Pasta Remix.

May 30, 2010 at 9:02 pm 5 comments

Most people spend their memorial day weekends lounging by the beach or pool.  D and I took a 2 1/2 hour excursion to the Jersey Pine Barrens (aka: where the Jersey Devil resides). In 90 degrees, I covered my body in long black pants and a black zip-up to deter bugs from feasting on me as we trudged around a bog and a lake in search of carnivorous plants.  I also spent that time fussing with my new camera, and learning all sorts of things to do that don’t make pictures look great. These are frustratingly the best I could do after 2-hours:

Meanwhile, D got down and dirty.

Sadly, the only working out I did today was shifting my butt during our 5 hour drive (thank you Jersey Shore traffic).

When we got home we were both beat and decided to order in Italian.  Except they are closed on Sunday, and apparently although today feels like Saturday it isn’t.  So I dug deep and was so relieved that I stole a pint of grape tomatoes from my mom.  Grape tomatoes + AeroGarden basil + 5 cloves pressed garlic + olive oil = Summer pasta to the rescue!


I sort of feel like this right now:

So now I’m sipping on some Pomarita (review to come) and cozying up for some Netflix. What’s not to love about a 3-day weekend?

Entry filed under: italian, pasta. Tags: , .

Unexpected expenses. An ode to POM(egranates).

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. trinity (of haiku tofu)  |  May 31, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    Your photos are lovely! Too bad about the long pants in 90 degrees thing, though. I’d like to give that Pomarita a try right about now.

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  June 1, 2010 at 6:24 am

      I urge you to try one out – SO simple!

      Reply
  • 3. Shenandoah Vegan  |  May 31, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    Looks like a wonderful day. I love Mountain Laurel, fresh Tomato Basil Pasta, Netflix and Fruity Cocktails.

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  June 1, 2010 at 6:21 am

      It really was! I wish every weekend involved two Saturdays – got so much more accomplished!

      Reply
  • 5. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  June 2, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    You know, I used to get dozens of bug bites all summer long when I was younger (and was a very poor eater), but the past few years, I’ve only gotten a handful. My more-or-less-unfounded-but-still-quite-possibly-true theory is that it’s all the garlic I eat. So that pasta you made might’ve been just the ticket!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


