An ode to POM(egranates).

May 31, 2010 at 10:32 pm 5 comments

A few weeks ago Kristen at POM Wonderful contacted me asking if I’d like to sample their product and perhaps try it in a new recipe.  She didn’t have to ask me twice!  I’ve seen many bloggers experiment with POM and have secretly envied their creations, especially many of Kath‘s spritzers.

When I received a case of mini POMs in the mail I was so excited and knew exactly what my project would entail – obviously a baked good.  However, I had to dig in and try one because they looked so refreshing. On it’s own the POM juice is sweet with a tiny hint of tart – reminding me very much of a cranberry juice.  Even D took a swig and agreed it was good!  I could absolutely drink these on their own, in fact as they have sat in my fridge I’ve often unscrewed a bottle and taken a few swigs just cause. And the nutritionals make it even more enticing, here’s a few that stand out to me (all nutrition info from POM wonderful):

(image from this source)


  • The “wonderful” pomegranates are grown right in California
  • These pomegranates specifically are known for their “superior antioxidants” with more potent antioxidants than red wine, grape juice, blueberry juice, cranberry juice, green tea, vitamin C, and vitami
  • Studies have proven that 8oz a day of pomegranate juice can improve blood flow to the heart, decrease arterial plaque, and lower LDL oxidation

One of the best ways to enjoy this juice is in it’s liquid form.  I’ve enjoyed this three-ways: with champagne, with tequila, and with carbonated water.

Pomegranate-Pineapple Spritzer

– 2 ounces POM Wonderful

– 2 ounces Champagne of choice (Martini & Rossi Asti is my favorite)

– 1 tablespoon pineapple juice

This was absolutely refreshing – I nearly finished an entire bottle of champagne to finish up 8oz of POM.  The sweet and bubbly combination combined with a bit of pineapple made this drink way too easy to refill.  KEEPER!


Pomegranate Margarita (aka: Pomarita)

– 3 ounces POM Wonderful

– 3 ounces pre-made margarita mix (Jose Cuervo)

– Handful of cubed ice

This is really that simple and I’m really that lazy. Mix, stir, sip.  This drink is my official summer refreshment of 2010. It is both sweet and sour, and involves a hint of liquor.  Let’s just say last night I had two of these and then had to crawl into bed.


Non-alcoholic POM Spritzer

– 3 ounces of POM Wonderful

– 2 ounces raspberry seltzer

– 1 teaspoon grenadine

This is actually what I’m currently sipping now, and it is for the record equally as refreshing as those involving liquor. I’m not much of a soda drinker, but for those of you who like carbonation and need to ween yourself off of soda, may I point you in the direction of a POM spritzer?  I imagine either a splash of pineapple juice or lime juice would also take this over the top.


May I present, my favorite recipe of all:  Vegan Pomegranate Margarita Cupcakes.

I whipped these up from scratch – the best part of vegan baking is always have ingredients you need on hand. And of course, POM Wonderful was the star ingredient and what made this vision. Well, so did the liquid version of these cupcakes, but that’s beside the point. The recipe is loosely based on a recipe in Vegan Cupcakes, but I’ve changed the liquids around and so I think it’s changed enough to share! The frosting is all mine.

Ingredients

Cupcake

-1 1/3 c flour

– 3/4c granulated sugar

– 1/4 tsp baking soda

– 1/2 tsp baking powder

– 1/2 tsp salt

– 1 cup soy milk

– 1/4 c canola oil

– 1/4 c margarita mix (Jose Cuervo)

– 2 tablespoons POM

– 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Frosting

– 1/8 c soy margarine (Earth Balance – room temp)

– 1/8 c vegan shortening (Earth Balance – room temp)

– 3 c powdered sugar

– 1 T soy milk

– 2 T margarita mix

– 2 T POM Wonderful

For cupcakes: Mix all the wet ingredients, then add in the mixed dry ingredients until smooth. Bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes. Let cool before adding the frosting.

For frosting: Mix butter, shortening, and liquids until blended. Add sugar slowly, beating on low until smooth.  Refrigerate to harden up for icing.  Not a good frosting for piping, actually very drippy (a 90 degree day was not the best day to frost cupcakes FYI).

Thank you again POM for letting me taste and experiment with your delicious juice! I do love it and will be replacing POM juice for cranberry juice in all my alcoholic beverages based on the health benefits and taste.  I recommend trying these out if you’ve been like me and wondered but haven’t tried them yet, quite refreshing!

What delicious foods did you make this 3-day weekend?

Entry filed under: baking, cupcakes, product review, vegan. Tags: , , , , , , .

Summer Pasta Remix. What’s that in there? Lunch!?

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Keri - I Eat Trees  |  June 1, 2010 at 7:19 am

    Yum! I don’t think I’ve ever tasted Pom juice- I love pomegranate seeds though! 😛
    Love the cupcakes!!

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  June 1, 2010 at 9:37 pm

      I bet you could make a fabulous Pom-Sorbet!! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. BitterSweet  |  June 1, 2010 at 8:01 am

    Those cupcakes look fantastic! And the colored sugar on top is a nice touch. 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  June 1, 2010 at 9:39 pm

      Thanks Hannah! I actually had visions of salt-rimmed sugar on the edging but the frosting was way too drippy so I said the heck with it and sprinkled away!

      Reply
  • 5. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  June 2, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    I like the flavor of pomegranate juice, but it’s a little too tart for me on its own. I LOVE your idea of combining it with champagne, though…

    You’re right about vegan baking, too; I like that I don’t have to always have fresh eggs or milk on hand to make something. The cupcakes look great! Very summery.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


