What’s that in there? Lunch!?

June 1, 2010 at 9:04 pm 14 comments

It’s a pretty rare occasion that I share what I eat for lunch around here.  Usually I stick to dinner leftovers, or other randoms.  With the change of weather I’ve begun to crave a more fresh approach to lunch, and this week I’ve turned to my favorite tried and true sandwich. Courtesy of my iPhone camera, enjoy foil wrap (for the record: I save foil wrap and reuse it as long as humanly possible.  D thinks this is a little over the top but really, why waste?), and my lunch.

What’s smushed into that?

  • Sabra classic hummus
  • Sliced tomatoes
  • 1/4 sliced avocado
  • 1 leaf green leaf lettuce
  • 1 slice Galaxy Vegan American Flavor cheese

Honestly, it’s a simple sandwich but tastes so fresh and savory.  Really.  Usually I crave sweets after I eat lunch, and this just hits the spot – always. It’s pretty much the only vegan sandwich that I enjoy that doesn’t include a tofu/tempeh.  So, just keep that in mind.

And as for dinner, I worked late seeing two clients tonight so it needed to be quick and easy, and for that I am grateful for Trader Joe’s frozen options.  I grabbed this two weeks ago when I noticed a specific stamp of approval on top:

Yup, vegan it is!

And this was so, so simple to turn into a meal.  I crumbled up some pressed firm tofu, let it marinate about 5-minutes in soy sauce and a dab of sesame oil, then let it pan fry until browned.  I then threw in the rice and dinner was ready nearly 5-minutes later.

The flavors in this are spot on.  It isn’t too salty, and each bite had a hint of peas, corn and onion that I find true and necessary for a rice stir fry’s flavor.  The balance was unquestionable.  Also unquestionable? That I will absolutely buy this in the future, even if it sits in the freezer for 2-months.  There are always days when I need meals like this (more often than not), and for less than 3 dollars it’s worth the freezer space.

I also think it’s important to mention that some of us get so stuck in the routine of cubing tofu for stir frys and crumbling for scrambles only.  This meal I think was heightened by the crumbling, which allowed the marinade to really cover more ground in less time and keep the flavor kicked up.  This also meant that the tofu flavor didn’t overtake each bite, and contributed to an overall balanced contrast.

Now I’m going to curl back up on the couch with a Pomarita, blueberry muffin, and wait for Losing It to come on and make me regret those last two decisions.  It’s only Tuesday people!

Entry filed under: dinner, frozen, lunch, sandwich, vegan. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

An ode to POM(egranates). When tofu gets naughty.

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Keri - I Eat Trees  |  June 1, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    Yum- I love that TJ’s rice and tofu!

    I’m watching Losing It too- I want Jillian to come kick my butt.

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  June 1, 2010 at 9:39 pm

      You and me both – any day, my door is open for Jillian!

      Reply
  • 3. The Voracious Vegan  |  June 2, 2010 at 2:14 am

    Oh yum! I love a good sandwich and that one looks fantastic. It’s got avocado on it, which is my favorite thing ever – so delicious!

    And then that stir fry! Wow! I’ve been meaning to make a good stir fry with marinated tofu for weeks, you’ve finally convinced me to get to it. It really looks scrumptious!

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  June 4, 2010 at 10:18 am

      I’m sure you can come up with a far more original and delicious stir fry recipe, you always come up with mouth watering meals!

      Reply
  • 5. Eric  |  June 2, 2010 at 6:48 am

    Hmm, never usually go to TJ’s but vegan fried rice… yum!

    Reply
    • 6. Amanda  |  June 4, 2010 at 10:18 am

      If you were half as lazy as me I’m sure you’d run to TJ’s to stock up on quick fixes 😉

      Reply
  • 7. Shenandoah Vegan  |  June 2, 2010 at 8:10 am

    I reuse my foil and plastic baggies as long as humanly possible as well. Makes me sick to see so much unncecessary waste. Yummy looking sandwich!

    Reply
    • 8. Amanda  |  June 4, 2010 at 10:18 am

      I know – I do love that we are very rarely buying those products and mostly use reusable containers, but reusing anything makes me feel like I’m making a small difference.

      Reply
  • 9. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  June 2, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    Haha, I’m with you on the reusing…I reuse foil, parchment, plastic wrap, ziplock bags…

    Reply
    • 10. Amanda  |  June 4, 2010 at 10:16 am

      I mean it’s so wasteful to not – even our “recycle” bin at home is OVER flowing more than our garbage bin. I wish I could find ways to reuse bottles and containers a bit better as well!

      Reply
  • 11. Jessica  |  June 2, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    I have decided that anywhere I live must have a Trader Joe’s. I’ve had a few misses, but I’ve loved many of their frozen foods and other mixes. I’ll have to look for this one — it’ll be a new one to me.

    Reply
  • 12. JennShaggy  |  June 3, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    Thanks, Amanda. I will definitely enjoy my bad self!

    WOW this food looks great. I’m dying to try a bite of that sandwich right now 🙂

    Reply
  • 13. rachel  |  June 4, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    Galaxy just sent me a boatload of vegan cheese! i’ll try your sammie. thanks lady!

    Reply
    • 14. Amanda  |  June 7, 2010 at 7:08 pm

      I’m sure you’ll take my sammie up like 50-notches, so let me know if you do! ! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


