When tofu gets naughty.

June 3, 2010 at 9:41 pm 6 comments

So the kind people at Book Publishing Co. have sent me some more books to review and cook with (and I promise my review of Speed Vegan is not forgotten, but stalled for one final recipe attempt before putting it all out there).  They generously sent me a book I have been dying to get my hands on and experiment with, and actually have had some great success with: Nonna’s Italian Kitchen by Bryanna Clark Groan (review to come down the line as well).  I had my Italian family gushing about the recipe for tofu ricotta I used in lasagna on Easter, and tonight I followed the recipe for “Lemon-Rosemary Breast of Tofu”. While the recipe calls for the tofu to marinate for days, I let it do it’s job in about 30-minutes.

I do need to share the lesson I re-learned tonight: pressing tofu, then putting it back in fresh water, then repressing it the next day does NOT make for a smooth, easy to work with tofu block. It became so crumbly and fell apart and led to the use of a few choice expletives.  After marinating the tofu I dredged the chunks in PANKO crumbs, which are similar to bread crumbs but minus the cheese product that seems to riddle every.single.package.  I then let the tofu fry up in extra virgin olive oil.  I know many super-healthy eaters would shy away from this, but for special occasions (and faux-Friday nights such as this), I say indulge.

Now this tofu was just over the top.  I mean, how could fried tofu not be?  I was a bit apprehensive about PANKO crumbs, but honestly they tasted just like a regular bread crumb.  The tofu was savory with an crispy gold crust outside and a delicate lemon rosemary flavor once I bit into it.  This could turn any tofu hater to the other side, it was that delicious and majorly comforting.

While this may not be a meal I make frequently, I’m keeping the page flagged for when I have guests over (especially little kiddos) who may be more apprehensive about vegan eats than most.

Nonna’s Italian Kitchen so far has been nothing but a success and I can’t wait to try more and do my full review!

So tonight I finally made it to hot yoga, for the first time in a week.  Due to our current weather which was already 86+ degrees and majorly humid, I decided to attend the less crowded afternoon class and avoid the body heat of the evening crowd (which can be upwards of 50+ people on top of each other).  Our class had no more than 16 people in attendance, and even though the heaters weren’t on – things got HOT!

The website of the studio claims that “The room is heated to 90 degrees with 40% humidity”. I can say officially that today’s class, at the one point I looked after the fans were turned on, was 104 degrees and 73% humidityYEAH. No wonder I walked out of there feeling like someone beat me with a bat for 75-minutes.  I’m proud that I was able to keep up with the pace given the pretty extreme conditions, aside from the last couple of chaturangas.  While there was no specific message that we talked about tonight, I think perseverance may cover it. Each time you feel like you want to get out  of a pose or flow and hug the floor but instead hold it together to completion is like climbing a small mountain. And that’s why I go to yoga, to remember that if I can hold my own on my mat, I can do the same off the mat.

Tomorrow after work I am driving up to Boston for the first of my high school friends to get married’s bachelorette party, isn’t she the cutest?

It should be an interesting weekend, so no updates from me until Sunday. I hope all of your weekends are restful or exciting – whichever you prefer!

Entry filed under: italian, nonna's italian kitchen, tofu, vegan, yoga. Tags: , , , .

What’s that in there? Lunch!? Quick-fix Boston & a cheap recoup pizza.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Leah  |  June 3, 2010 at 11:35 pm

    That tofu looks amazing!!

    I’ve never been brave enough to tackle a hot yoga class. One day I want to try it.

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  June 4, 2010 at 10:15 am

      I def. recommend trying it! If you love working out + getting a good sweat, it’s the perfect combo!

      Reply
  • 3. Keri - I Eat Trees  |  June 4, 2010 at 7:03 am

    Your tofu looks great!
    I’m going to a bachelorette party this weekend as well. Have fuuun. 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  June 4, 2010 at 10:15 am

      Thanks! Hope you have fun too!!!

      Reply
  • 5. Hangry Pants  |  June 4, 2010 at 7:36 am

    OMG – how did you know that about the temp/humidity?

    Have a safe trip.

    Reply
  • 6. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  June 4, 2010 at 11:27 am

    I hate that it’s the case, but frying really does work wonders on some foods! I pan-fried seitan recently and it was better than any restaurant seitan I’ve ever had. The golden crust on that tofu looks fantastic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


