Quick-fix Boston & a cheap recoup pizza.

June 6, 2010 at 9:54 pm 8 comments

During a quick 24-hour stay in Boston, my friends and I managed to take pole dancing lessons,

enjoy a tad over-priced spa day,

visit the long-coveted Johny Cupcakes and enjoy some kick-ass cupcakes,

and embarrass the bride-to-be a little.

It was my first bachelorette weekend and it was a whole lot of fun (and way jam-packed).  I’m pretty excited to return to Boston in 3-weeks for the wedding and explore a bit more with D. Needless to say, after a long drive home I have spent much today sleeping in, relaxing and cleaning to prepare for another week ahead.

For two weeks I had Robin Robinson’s “Tuscan White Bean Pizza” on my to-make list, but never got around to prepping the dough.  Thankfully today was the perfect day for this recipe and I got to work on the dough without any haste, letting the dough rise as necessary.

While the dough rose, I prepped the garlic and basil for the bean mixture,

and then spread the beans onto the dough before baking.

Baked half with cheese for D, who is a bit more picky about how his pizza should look and taste,

and finally I got to enjoy one hunk of a slice.

I thought this was awesome.  The dough actually cooked through (FOR ONCE IN MY LIFE) and was fluffy and perfect (and THICK, check it out). I love, love, loved the bean spread!  The garlic and basil punched it up and was flavorific.  Really, I had to withhold from indulging in carb heaven.  D thought it was “good” but then started to question what the “starchy potatoey stuff” was. I sort of played dumb and claimed no potatoes were harmed in this pizza – however left out the bean part.  D hates beans, and that would have done him in.  Regardless, I loved it and the recipe is worth checking out – because it was cheap and yummy!

After a busy weekend I finally got a chance to move my body a little.  I hopped on the elliptical for 20-minutes before completing Level 1 of Jillian’s 30-Day Shred.  I think I’m going to tackle a 21-day pre-wedding shred challenge.  So for the next week I will complete level 1, then the following week level 2, and finally the week before the wedding I’ll finish up with level 3.  After seeing a few choice photos of my arms this weekend I’m hoping this will help tone up some, uh, unphotogenic areas.

On to another week of eats, expect to see lots of veggies!

Entry filed under: 30 day shred, fitness, pizza, vegan, vegan on the cheap. Tags: , , , , , , , .

When tofu gets naughty. Keepin’ it sizzling (with vegan breakfasts & tempeh).

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Keri - I Eat Trees  |  June 7, 2010 at 8:36 am

    That looks like a lot of fun- our bachelorette party didn’t go quite so well. Haha!

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  June 7, 2010 at 7:07 pm

      Uh oh! What happened!

      Reply
  • 3. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  June 7, 2010 at 11:54 am

    I have been dying to try pole-dancing lessons AND to make that pizza! I’ve seen it elsewhere, like on No Meat Athlete and Robin’s own blog, and it just looks awesome.

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  June 7, 2010 at 7:08 pm

      It really is awesome, even cold (for lunch)! As for pole dancing, it’s quite a workout and if you can get a bunch of girls to go it’s totally fun!!

      Reply
  • 5. Eric  |  June 7, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    I like the idea of the bean spread other than always using a nut cheese/cream.

    Reply
  • 6. Shenandoah Vegan  |  June 7, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    What is that thing the bride-to-be is holding?

    Reply
    • 7. Amanda  |  June 7, 2010 at 7:07 pm

      Uhh… it’s a happy hot dog balloon?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


