Keepin’ it sizzling (with vegan breakfasts & tempeh).

June 7, 2010 at 6:58 pm 11 comments

I’m just going to put it out there – with the extreme change in weather I’ve been craving my ultimate summer breakfast food, yogurt.  Up until I decided  to incorporate a more vegan lifestyle into my eating habits, I was enjoying Greek yogurt daily and most especially in the summer with fruit for breakfast.  This entire weekend I was having these insane daydreams about yogurt and strawberries, and was really really feeling bummed (I know, it’s a pathetic tale).  So while food shopping last night I decided to explore the yogurt shelf at the local supermarket (ie: not Whole Foods or Trader Joes). I scanned around until I found one shelf was particularly wiped out – and it was the Whole Soy Yogurt shelf. Heck yea!

At $1.50 a shot I found these moderately expensive, but grabbed three flavors to test: blueberry, strawberry, and strawberry banana.  I honestly went to bed like a child on Christmas, so eager to wake up this morning and try an old favorite for breakfast: the waffle parfait. I toasted two Vans whole-grain waffles then spread half of the strawberry soy yogurt between the waffles and on top, with some blueberries and strawberries on top and on the side.

! ! ! Do I even need to say the words?  YES!  While the yogurt is a bit sweeter than what I prefer, the taste is  uncannily similar to that of most mainstream sweetened yogurts, and quite frankly it’s texture is close enough to meet my summer yogurt needs.  At 160 calories for a container it may be higher in calories than traditional yogurts, but I’ll take that and all 6 grams of protein that come along for the ride on any day.  I’m excited to try the remaining flavors and am hoping for similar results.  Super score for vegan foods!!

I promised this week would bring a plethora of veggies to the table, and I have to share that the main culprits throughout the entire week will be zucchini & squash.  In fact we can call this week’s theme “How to cook with zucchini and squash in three slightly different but delicious ways”.

So for dinner? Sizzling Tempeh Fajitas!

  • 1 package tempeh
  • 1 package of organic fajita seasoning
  • 1 package of dry vegetable soup mix
  • 1 zucchini, 1 squash, 1 red bell pepper, 1 red onion – all sliced
  • Olive oil mister + 2 tsp olive oil

First slice the tempeh into 8-slices (or cubes) and steam for 8-10 minutes in a covered pan.  Follow directions for fajita seasoning and set aside.  Add 1 tsp. olive oil to a bag and add tempeh, mixing to cover.  Next add marinade to cover tempeh in bag. Refrigerate for 30-mins to 2-hours. Meanwhile, prep your veggies.  Place all sliced veggies in a bag and cover with 1-tsp olive oil  to cook before adding entire packet of dry vegetable soup mix, shaking to cover.

When you’re ready to cook, just heat up the grill (or grill pan like us) and let things get sizzling on medium-high heat for about 15-minutes until the onions are soft. Meanwhile, let the tempeh saute for about 10-minutes on a lightly misted pan until slightly browned.  Serve in warm tortilla!

I think what makes this recipe above average are three important elements: 1) taking the time to both steam and marinate the tempeh, 2) adding vegetable mix to the vegetables, and 3) it’s incredibly fresh and simple nature.  This dinner was rocking and way low in calories. One tortilla filled with tempeh and veggies made me feel comfortable stuffed but yearning for more – but that’s what lunch is for.  D ran with it and enjoyed two (after asking why there were bananas in his fajita).  I can never fully express my love for simple and delicious meals, but Mexican inspired meals tend to always hit it home.

If you’ve learned nothing here tonight, let me hit you over the head with it: try vegan yogurt – and steam your tempeh!

Although I’ve already knocked out my cardio for the day on the elliptical, I have Jillian calling my name for a 20-minute ass kicking before hitting the couch.

Have you tried any vegan substitute that you were particularly impressed with?  Please share!

Entry filed under: breakfast, dinner, mexican, product review, recipes, tempeh, vegan. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Quick-fix Boston & a cheap recoup pizza. Squashta for Dinner.

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kim g.  |  June 7, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    This post is so up my alley! I am in love the waffle parfait idea! And those fajitas sound amazing. I love finding recipes for great weeknight meals!

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  June 7, 2010 at 9:20 pm

      Thanks kim! The parfait was actually so filling I skipped my morning smoothie!! Give it a try! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  June 7, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    Those are some great-looking fajitas!

    I’ve tried WholeSoy yogurt a couple times, but something about the aftertaste was really off-putting for me. Semi-recently, though, I discovered SoDelicious’s coconut milk yogurts, and I am in LOVE. I’ve bought the vanilla and chocolate, and they’re both awesome and addicting.

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  June 8, 2010 at 6:57 am

      Hmm I’ll have to try those next? I’m a little apprehensive about coconut flavor in my yogurt, but maybe it’s not as prominent?

      Reply
      • 5. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  June 8, 2010 at 8:06 am

        Well, I may not be trustworthy since I’m not too sensitive to coconut flavors, but the ones I’ve tried do NOT taste very coconutty to me at all, especially the vanilla.

  • 6. Keri - I Eat Trees  |  June 7, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    I was excited to find those yogurts at the “not a WF” too! 🙂 I’m going to have to make those parfait waffles- if I had waffles, I’d probably do it right now!!

    Reply
    • 7. Amanda  |  June 8, 2010 at 6:58 am

      They seriously are so delish, I can tell you that because I just finished my breakfast this morning and I’m feeling full and satisfied!

      Reply
  • 8. Marissa  |  June 7, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    Everything looks sooooo good!!! YUM!!! My husband loves soy yogurt!

    Reply
  • 9. Jess - The Domestic Vegan  |  June 8, 2010 at 11:51 am

    Wow! A waffle parfait is brilliant. YUM!!!

    I really like that soy yogurt, but it has more sugar in it than I prefer (esp for the morning), so I normally stick with the Plain flavor of So Delicious’ Coconut Milk Yogurt. I LOVE that stuff! It’s expensive, too, but worth a splurge once in awhile. They just started selling larger containers, too, which is more cost effective.

    Reply
  • 10. Lauren  |  June 8, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    Thanks for the tip about steaming tempeh! I will have to try that out.

    And those fajitas look delicious!

    Reply
    • 11. Amanda  |  June 14, 2010 at 8:50 pm

      I swear steaming the tempeh makes SUCH a difference in the flavor!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


