Squashta for Dinner.

June 8, 2010 at 7:08 pm 13 comments

Consider yourself forewarned.  Yesterday I shared that this was squash week and tonight I did my best to follow up a Mexican dish with an Italian. I couldn’t shake the calling for grilled vegetables though, so again I turned to my grill pan to round out my meal. I present you with, “Squashta” (100% creative rights goes to D for this name).

  • 1 zucchini halved
  • 1 squash halved
  • 1 onion sliced about 1/4″ thin
  • 2 tomatoes, cubed
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 T basil, chopped
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 6-8 oz penne
  • Salt/pepper to taste

With the pan on medium-high heat (closer to high), drizzle 1/3 of the olive oil on the pan.  Add all the vegetables and the garlic to the pan and drizzle remaining olive oil atop and slightly salt to taste . Mix all the vegetables until well combined and covered.  Meanwhile, start up your pasta water in a covered  salted pot. Turn the vegetables every 5 or so minutes for about 12-15 minutes until the onions and squash are soft. When the pasta is ready, drizzle with olive oil to keep from sticking and mix in basil. When the vegetables are ready remove the squash from the grill pan and halve the halves and slice them (making many quarter moons) before returning to the pot of pasta with the remaining vegetables.  Add to the pasta and mix well.

This was nothing short of awesome and amazing. The vegetables all complimented each other and I swear they tasted sweet – I’m not sure if I should blame the basil, the tomatoes or the squash.   The proportions were also just right, with a pretty equal balance of veggies to pasta.  And the best part is that you don’t even need any cheese – vegan or not.  D is my witness (he refused to add any to his bowl).  There is NOTHING bland about this pasta, and I cannot encourage you enough to get off your roasted vegetable kick and grill up some veggies.

If it counts for anything, D went back for TWO extra helpings.  He my have left the yellow squash behind on his plate, but I think he just have color issues with his vegetables (to go along with the tactile issues).

So yes, dinner was pretty damned delicious and I’m nice and full and although I did a 2-mile jog/walk combo, I still have Day 3 of the 21-Day Shred to complete. And also need to finish off my pomarita before calling up some new clients (this may be dangerous).

Question of the Day: What’s your favorite vegetable to grill up?  I’ve never been a fan of mushrooms, but I do love grilled onion.  Is it weird that grilled onion is my favorite grilled vegetable?

Entry filed under: pasta, vegan, vegetables. Tags: , , , .

Keepin’ it sizzling (with vegan breakfasts & tempeh). A new quest…

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mysticdolphin  |  June 8, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    Oh god That looks amazing! I am so making this one night this soon – probably this summer when I’ve time! lol By the looks of it I think I might be able to get the family eatin vegan for a change… if ma doesnt insist on throwin in a steak *rolls eyes* Looks good!
    Grilling asparagus is AMAZING! try it if you haven’t! It truly is the only way to cook it!

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  June 14, 2010 at 8:50 pm

      Let me know how it goes! 🙂 I do have a newfound love for asparagus but I’m I hate the after smell!

      Reply
  • 3. Keri - I Eat Trees  |  June 8, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    That looks delicious! I love grilled onion, peppers, eggplant, mushrooms… pretty much all vegetables grilled. I mean, I don’t know how one would grill peas, but you know… 😀

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  June 14, 2010 at 8:51 pm

      Hmm.. never had grilled peas, but fried peas & mashed potatoes are quite delish!

      Reply
  • 5. Melisser  |  June 9, 2010 at 2:07 am

    This sounds perfect for summer!

    Reply
  • 6. Eric  |  June 9, 2010 at 10:50 am

    nope, nothing wrong with grilled onions.

    im a big fan of grilled corn on the cob 🙂

    Reply
    • 7. Amanda  |  June 14, 2010 at 8:51 pm

      I do love some corn on the cob, but not having a grill makes it like 40% less exciting!

      Reply
  • 8. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  June 9, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    Yum! You know, it’s weird (since I hail from Barbecue City, USA), but the grill doesn’t thrill me the way it does other people. That said, I love sliced grilled sweet potatoes, especially atop a veggie burger, with hummus or tapenade in between!

    Reply
    • 9. Amanda  |  June 14, 2010 at 8:52 pm

      Perhaps since you grew up in the barbecue capitol of the world that is precisely why you aren’t so dazzled? 🙂 Haven’t grilled sweet potatoes yet and now I’m thinking I should!

      Reply
  • 10. BitterSweet  |  June 10, 2010 at 8:25 am

    No way, it’s not weird at all, I’m happy to eat plain old roasted or grilled onions any day of the week! They just might be my favorite, too.

    Reply
    • 11. Amanda  |  June 14, 2010 at 8:52 pm

      Oh thank heavens! I always grill twice as many onions as any other veggie on the grill!

      Reply
  • 12. epicureanvegan  |  June 11, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    This looks so fresh and delicious–perfect for summer!

    Reply
    • 13. Amanda  |  June 14, 2010 at 8:53 pm

      Thanks!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


