Soy Candles by Phebes – Review & Giveaway!

June 14, 2010 at 9:39 pm 26 comments

When Mike from Soy Candles by Phebes contacted me and offered to send me some candles to review – there was no doubt in my  mind that the answer was yes! I had visited their website a few days prior to when they contacted me, and at that point I had already had it in my mind that “Sweet Cotton” was a candle I needed in my life. So this was quite a fortuitous offer!

According to their website, Soy Candles by Phebes are handmade in America (Georgia) and are hand poured at the time of each order – talk about made to order! The candles use only essential oils and plant derived fragrance oils, and are blended with 100% American grown soy beans!   To boot, they are vegan owned and operated!

And if the fact that they are vegan made and eco-friendly doesn’t win you over, you need to check out their list of available fragrances. I have to say the variety of scents they offer on their website truly are both unique and modern.  I was lucky enough to receive the scent that I had been coveting, “Sweet Cotton” and a surprise scent “Osmanthus Fragrant Tea Olive”. Check out the sleek and simple glasses the candles are sent in, which are unadorned with stickers and are all neutral in color.

“Sweet Cotton” was everything it is described as “Fresh Green Apple with hints of Orange & Pineapple on a Downy Base”. This candle is out of this world delightful! I love a crisp fruity candle, and I am not exaggerating when I say that this is my officially my favorite summer smell.  Even unlit this candle’s fragrance fills our office – which also houses the cat’s litter box, so that says a lot.  The strength of this candle is quite unreal, and upon entering the room my nostril’s are instantly greeted with a light fruity fragrance.  I LOVE IT!


The “Osmanthus Frangrant Tea Olive” was my surprise scent.  Traditionally, I enjoy two types of candles: fruity and desserty, florals rarely make their way into my home.  However this scent manages to pull off floral with a hint of fruity – and that’s how it won me over.  Again, the strength of these candles is astounding. I’ve found the perfect home for this calming scent – in my bathtub for a spa shower/bath.  It’s soothing and quickly fills the bathroom with it’s aroma.

By now you should be practically drooling at the endless possibilities that Phebes can offer your home – and you may be lucky enough to receive one free candle of your choice!

The kind folks at Phebes have offered to give one lucky reader a candle of their choice!  How do you enter?

  • First and foremost, visit Soy Candles by Phebes website and comment on this page to tell me which scent you secretly are coveting!
  • For an “extra” entry and to spread some Domestic lovin’, link back to this post and let me know you did in the comments!

The contest runs until Friday at midnight – and I’ll randomly choose a winner on Saturday morning! Good luck!

*SPECIAL OFFER: Visit www.soycandlesbyphebes.com and buy three candles and get a fourth free!  Simply mention that you found us on Amanda’ss Domestic Adventures and indicate what scent you’d like for the free candle and you’re in!”

Entry filed under: product review, vegan. Tags: , , , , .

A new quest… End of Year Dinner Slump & Giveaway Winner

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Leah @ Why Deprive?  |  June 14, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    The coco-loco sounds awesome!! I LOOOOVE the smell of coconut.

    Reply
  • 2. Leah @ Why Deprive?  |  June 14, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    I will be linking back to this post tomorrow morning. I’ve already saved it as a draft so I dont forget! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. tasha - the clean eating mama  |  June 14, 2010 at 11:59 pm

    What a great giveaway! Sunday Morning sounds heavenly! 😉

    Reply
  • 4. Lauren  |  June 15, 2010 at 7:07 am

    Awesome giveaway! All of the scents sound amazing, but if I had to pick it would be…Sweet Cotton!

    Reply
  • 5. Hangry Pants  |  June 15, 2010 at 7:34 am

    What a fabulous giveaway!

    Reply
  • 6. Hangry Pants  |  June 15, 2010 at 7:35 am

    Here is my link: http://wp.me/piHF6-3sl 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. And the winner is . . . « Why Deprive?  |  June 15, 2010 at 8:04 am

    […] thing before I get going, Amanda over at Amanda’s Domestic Adventures is having an awesome giveaway. Make sure you check it […]

    Reply
  • 8. Miss Rachel  |  June 15, 2010 at 9:02 am

    Well! This is lovely!
    I would have to stick with straightforward scents if I am to buy (or win!) without smelling first. So it’s a toss-up between Peach Orchard, Citrus Splash and Tangerine Dreams. Yum, yum.

    Reply
  • 9. Sarah B  |  June 15, 2010 at 9:02 am

    I WANT PUPPY BREATH! Next best thing after having a reallllll puppy 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. Christie  |  June 15, 2010 at 9:24 am

    Bedtime Medley for sure! It has my top 3 scents (Mandarin, lavender and chamomile) for settling down for a nice sleep.

    Reply
  • 11. Danielle  |  June 15, 2010 at 9:43 am

    I’m curious about the “butt naked” scent – sounds fun! 🙂

    Reply
  • 12. Sarah  |  June 15, 2010 at 10:37 am

    I have to pick one??? If I must, Vermont Maple Syrup. Ooh la la!

    Reply
  • 13. Eric  |  June 15, 2010 at 11:09 am

    Butt naked, definitely butt naked 😉

    Reply
  • 14. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  June 15, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    I’d dig the Coco Loco, Vanilla Champagne, or Chocolate Rain…but the Eat It Raw might win for originality! I love the sound of that. I tend to go for candles that smell like [sweet] foods, not surprisingly!

    Reply
  • 15. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  June 15, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    Extra entry! I added a note about your giveaway here: http://almostvegankc.blogspot.com/2010/06/review-sunland-peanut-butter.html

    Reply
  • 16. Laura E  |  June 15, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    Thanks so much for the opportunity! I would love to have the Summer Fields scented candle!

    Reply
  • 17. Natalie (First Kitchen)  |  June 15, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    Ooh vanilla champagne sounds heavenly.

    Reply
  • 18. Lindsey  |  June 15, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    What an awesome giveaway! I want the coco-loco scent..mmmm

    Reply
  • 19. actorsdiet  |  June 15, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    mmmm cocoloco!

    Reply
  • 20. actorsdiet  |  June 15, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    linked back:
    http://theactorsdiet.wordpress.com/giveaways

    Reply
  • 21. Clarice  |  June 15, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    I’ve never seen a Clementine candle, but the one Phebes looks great.

    Reply
  • 22. Aimee  |  June 16, 2010 at 6:28 am

    Country clothesline please! I love the names of some of their scents. They all sound great. These would make great gifts.

    Reply
  • 23. BlessedMama  |  June 16, 2010 at 10:10 am

    Hi, Amanda! I love your blog’s layout! Thanks for dropping by mine. What luck to have stumbled upon your giveaway. Let’s see, since I have a daughter named Summer, I’m going to have to go with the Summer Fields scent. Thanks for doing this. I’m also going to add you as a link on my blog FYI. 🙂

    Reply
  • 24. Vaishali  |  June 18, 2010 at 11:29 am

    Coco-Loco, Citrus Splash, or Chocolate Rain – all are fantastic! 🙂

    Reply
  • […] my Soy Candles by Phebes Reivew & Giveaway?  I know I’m about 3 days late in revealing the winner, but better late than […]

    Reply
  • 26. Review: Sunland peanut butter « Almost Vegan  |  July 2, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    […] this review. But stay tuned for one of those soon! In the meantime, check out Amanda‘s soy candle giveaway (update: Jessie is giving away a candle too!) and Fit and Forty Something‘s Larabar giveaway. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


