End of Year Dinner Slump & Giveaway Winner

June 21, 2010 at 7:50 pm 2 comments

Happy Post-Father’s Day!  As soon as this posts I’ll be swapping over to read all about everyone’s weekends.  I spent mine baking cupcakes, relaxing, and spending some time with family and these cutie patooties:

Anyone who works in a school knows that the last 1-2 weeks are pretty sloppy.  I have a stack as high as my waist of paperwork that “needs to get done” in addition to picking up my kids throughout the day.  As a result the quality of cooking and dinners has diminished severely and we’ve been living off of frozen goods and leftovers for as far as the eyes can stretch.  Fear not!  This weekend was met with many cupcake creations, which are for another time and place (maybe in a few hours).

For instance tonight’s dinner.  When Whole Foods re-organizes or expands my local store, I have no choice but to spend a few extra minutes perusing the aisles and calculating all the ways to spend my money on edibles. When I lived in New York and San Diego, Whole Foods pre-cooked tofu and salads were my lifeline and now that I am paying off my loans and no longer living off them I had to back off a lot.  In any case, tonight was a summer splurge that reminds me of meals a la Cynthia, except seitan panini-less.

On the Menu: Sesame Glazed Tofu, Grilled Vegetables, and Pearl Couscous salad.  This meal probably cost me $6.00 which isn’t terrible considering where it came from.  Of course it was delicious as almost anything that resides inside Whole Foods most definitely is. And for another $6.00 expect to see some leftovers as my snack of choice tomorrow.

Tomorrow I am going to be attending Y@GLYoga at the Great Lawn (in Central Park). Essentially, it’s a class for 10,000 yogis in the middle of Central Park. Or in their words: On June 22, 2010, Flavorpill and JetBlue’s TrueBlue will host the world’s largest yoga event ever as 10,000 people of all backgrounds, sizes, and skill levels will simultaneously practice on the Great Lawn in Central Park, NYC.

After work a coworker and I are booking it to the bus station and high-tailing it uptown.  I’ll be sure to report on the grooviness that ensues – I’m pretty excited!

Remember my Soy Candles by Phebes Reivew & Giveaway?  I know I’m about 3 days late in revealing the winner, but better late than never!

The winner: Danielle, who said:  “I’m curious about the “butt naked” scent – sounds fun! :)“.

Danielle please e-mail me your information so I can get you in touch with Phebes for your free scent (you didn’t leave your e-mail on your comment)!

Everyone else: Even though you didn’t win one free scent today – Mike at Soy Candles by Phebes has generously extended this offer that I encourage you to check out: “

Come to www.soycandlesbyphebes.com and buy three candles and get a fourth free!  Simply mention that you found us on Amanda’s Domestic Adventures and indicate what scent you’d like for the free candle and you’re in!”

Entry filed under: dinner, giveaway. Tags: , , , .

Soy Candles by Phebes – Review & Giveaway! Cupcake Warriors

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lynn @ the actors diet  |  June 21, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    yoga on the great lawn sounds wonderful. i miss nyc. congrats to the giveaway winner!

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  June 23, 2010 at 6:01 pm

      it did sound wonderful, and i was utterly crushed when my friend decided she couldn’t go due to personal reasons and the possibility of rain (it did). next time! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


