Going mid-America for dinner.

June 29, 2010 at 6:32 pm 12 comments

Welcome to my first official at-home breakfast of the season.  I think I’ll be able to squeeze in two of these per work-week and for that I rejoice.  I love to sit in the sun, with my breakfast [above: strawberry muffin, vanilla soy yogurt, yummy fruits] and coffee, no t.v. on, and just watch the birds (or read blogs) as I eat breakfast.  It’s really all about the morning silence, because after that it’s all down hill from there.

Last night after dinner I asked D if he wanted me to make more breakfast muffins, which I had done for two week consecutively and he and I both enjoyed the goods tremendously.  The fact that he’ll eat a vegan muffin without persuasion makes me more apt to offer on 10:00 pm on a Monday.  So strawberry muffins were reborn – and may or may not have exploded in the oven – still good!

Back in the day I would make a mean turkey meatloaf (we’re talking 5 years ago people).  I was never a meatloaf person, but at that time in my life it was considered “healthy” I was going to try my damnest to eat it.  A year later I was eating vegetarian and strangely felt a need to vegetarianize my meatloaf recipe.  I successfully was able to do so and although it didn’t wow D to any extent, it met my needs for a quality comfort-food meal.  Enter: today.   Sifting through my recipes and freezer to continue my pantry cleanse, I encounter my make-shift vegetarian meat loaf recipe and a bag of Boca crumbles.  Are things getting clearer for you?

I veganized my vegetarian meatloaf and I think it’s worth sharing and trying.

Ingredients:

  • Boca Crumbles, entire bag
  • 1/2 medium onion grated
  • .4cup Panko bread crumbs (plain)
  • 1 Carrots, medium grated
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup ketchup
  • EnerG Egg Replacer, 1.5 tsp + 2 T water
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp. vegan grated parmesan

Preheat oven 400 degrees. Mix all ingredients together except for 1/3 c of ketchup (pre-whip the egg replacer together before adding to mixture). Place mixture into oil sprayed loaf pan. Bake for 30 minutes, remove and cover with remaining ketchup and bake another 15 minutes.  Let stand about 10 minutes before serving so it doesn’t fall apart.

I think this was fantastic – the flavors were spot spot spot on! I haven’t had a real meatloaf in like 15 years so I can’t attest to how “true” it tasted, but it tasted good and that’s what matters most to me.  To the point that I would recommend a meatloaf recipe, which is so uncharacteristic for me. D wouldn’t even tried it.  See, real meatloaf even scares him, let alone a vegan one. I served this up some buttered noodles (how mid-western of me, am I right?).  While this meal has most odds stacked against it – I wanted to jump up and down at my success!  Whip up some mashed potatoes and this will make grand-maw proud!

To boot – it makes four hunking servings each less than 250 calories and jam-packed with protein. HOLLA!  Let me know if this recipe doesn’t scare you and you try it! It’s my new baby!

What recipe have you vegetarianized/veganized that seems scary at first but tastes pretty damn good? Do share!

Entry filed under: breakfast, dinner, faux meat, recipes, vegan. Tags: , , , , , .

Refreshing Veggie Orzotto! Sidetrack: Hair evolution & a small Jersey crisis.

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Keri - I Eat Trees  |  June 29, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    That’s one sexy breakfast!

    Hmm.. I can’t think of anything that seemed scary. Maybe all the chickpea recipes. Chickpea cutlets, eggless salad, chickpea curry and on and on. I had no idea the awesome contained within the chickpea until I went vegan!! 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  June 30, 2010 at 9:28 pm

      True – chickpeas are so versatile! I’m still trying so hard to get D to be more open to them – but their “lining” “freaks him out”. Booh!

      Reply
  • 3. Marissa  |  June 30, 2010 at 12:43 am

    I love veganizing things!

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  June 30, 2010 at 9:28 pm

      It’s pretty much the most satisfying thing ever to get it right, right?

      Reply
  • 5. kallie  |  June 30, 2010 at 6:56 am

    That breakfast looks scrumptious. I’m starving now!!
    I can’t say I have any scary vegetarian recipes, I think food WITHOUT meat can’t be scary because you know you aren’t going to get some weird meat borne illness haha. I cannot wait to try this meat loaf! thanks for the recipe.

    Reply
    • 6. Amanda  |  June 30, 2010 at 9:27 pm

      I agree with that Kallie – I’m ALWAYS more apt to try a veggie entree because it’s not going to have a weird stringy piece that I can’t identify!

      Reply
  • 7. Shenandoah Vegan  |  June 30, 2010 at 7:17 am

    Grrrrrr!!! His woman makes a beautiful vegan meatloaf and he won’t even taste it?! If he didn’t maintain the balcony so well…well, you know…

    Reply
    • 8. Amanda  |  June 30, 2010 at 9:27 pm

      Haha Cynthia you are too much. He tries most things, even if they scare him. He keeps blaming it this week on the “wine from the wedding that upset his stomach”. MMhmm….

      Reply
  • 9. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  June 30, 2010 at 8:24 am

    Looks good!
    I was wary of sloppy joes at first, since I didn’t even like REAL sloppy joes, but I tried ’em and liked ’em.

    Reply
    • 10. Amanda  |  June 30, 2010 at 9:26 pm

      I’m still not on the sloppy joe boat – too much cumin ruined it for us. I may have to give that a go again!

      Reply
  • 11. Eric  |  June 30, 2010 at 11:08 am

    Interesting. Ive never had real meatloaf before but might have to try to make one. Have you ever subbed anything in for the boca crumbles before?

    Reply
    • 12. Amanda  |  June 30, 2010 at 9:25 pm

      Hmm good question – I have not tried anything else, however I imagine lentils/beans would make a good binder!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


