Sidetrack: Hair evolution & a small Jersey crisis.

June 30, 2010 at 9:24 pm 17 comments

Through the years I’ve gone through many, many hair changes.  For me it’s fun and a way to change things up and express myself.  I’ve done it all and only a few have lasted for more than a year.

I’ve stayed natural and ashy:

lightened up the front:

went blonde:

brown:

black:

and red in an effort to get back to the beginning:

Yesterday when I went in to get my hair highlighted, I was hoping for a blonde look with soft red undertones. I left with a hole in my wallet and as the Jersey Girl poster child:

D’s response? He said it looked “fine” and at least it was “just hair” and not boobs or a nose.  Thank you for your support.

Following an affair of tears (intertwined with laughter coupled with “THIS IS MY NIGHTMARE”), multiple phone calls to the mom, sister, and bff for advice, I took to the sheets and woke up this morning ready to make a phone call.  I’m going to skip all the awkward, uncomfortable details, but I returned to my hair dresser and left much happier than I entered. That’s really all that matters.

I made a yummy dinner tonight – but the past 24 hour events have just left me whipped.  I’ll save that for tomorrow, so keep your eyes peeled for some Mediterranean Pasta!

Do you change your hair often?  Any hair catastrophes?  Please share and make me feel less insane!! 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Going mid-America for dinner. Mediterranean Feta Pasta

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Keri - I Eat Trees  |  June 30, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    Aww.. its sucks to hate a new color/style! I have naturally really dark hair. And ONCE I thought I wanted to go blond. Let’s just say that will never happen again.
    Your hair looks SO good now!!!

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  July 1, 2010 at 1:43 pm

      Thanks! I know going from dark to light is PAINFUL! I’ve paid a lot of money and spent a lot of time waiting to go from black to blonde!

      Reply
  • 3. cookeasyvegan  |  June 30, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    Thanks for sharing. 😀

    Your hair really does look beautiful now. Did the same person do both versions?

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  July 1, 2010 at 1:43 pm

      Surprisingly the same person did fix it, go figure right?

      Reply
  • 5. lauren  |  July 1, 2010 at 7:51 am

    It looks good now! A lot more blended!

    I bleached my hair myself once. It turned a terrible orange color no matter how much bleach + toner I put on it. After a good cry session I just dyed it back brown.

    Reply
    • 6. Amanda  |  July 1, 2010 at 1:44 pm

      I’m glad I’m not the only one whose cried over hair – self bleaching is something I am way too chicken to try for that reason!

      Reply
  • 7. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  July 1, 2010 at 8:07 am

    Ooh, that would make me so mad too. After they “fixed” it, though, it looks great.
    In high school and most of college, I had my hair every color of the rainbow, multiple times over…black, blonde, red, orange, bleached white, green, turquoise, blue, lavender, purple, even silver at one point. I always had the bulk of my hair one color, and the front couple inches a different color. Went well with my 16 head/facial piercings…oh, those were the days 😛

    Reply
    • 8. Amanda  |  July 1, 2010 at 1:45 pm

      How am I not surprised? 🙂 I’m sure you rock red real well, but blonde fits you nicely!!

      Reply
      • 9. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  July 1, 2010 at 2:20 pm

        Aww, thanks ::blush:: I think purple and blue were my favorites. Sometimes it kinda sucks to be a grown-up with a “real” job and all that crap! Hehe.

  • 10. Shenandoah Vegan  |  July 1, 2010 at 9:18 am

    I am surprised they were able it fix it so well. Why couldn’t they do that to begin with?

    Reply
    • 11. Amanda  |  July 1, 2010 at 1:45 pm

      You and me both – happily surprised! Let’s just say we had “different interpretations” of a picture I brought in.

      Reply
  • 12. Jessica  |  July 1, 2010 at 10:18 am

    The finished product looks great!

    Reply
    • 13. Amanda  |  July 1, 2010 at 1:45 pm

      Thanks!

      Reply
  • 14. Sarah  |  July 1, 2010 at 10:51 am

    Your hair is GORGEOUS now, but I am going to have to agree with you on the Jersey comment (which gave me a huge laugh by the way!!!). Sorry to laugh at your misfortune, but seriously the end result is fantastic.

    I’m like you, I like to change my hair a lot (red phase right now). Lucky for me, my roommate is a hair stylist and we trade cooking duties for unlimited hair cuts/coloring. Perfect!!

    Reply
    • 15. Amanda  |  July 1, 2010 at 1:46 pm

      You have the best barter system in your home!! Seriously, that would be dangerous for me (in a fun way) – but awesome in your wallet! I wanted to go a bit redder but apparently that just wasn’t in the cards!

      Reply
  • 16. MarathonVal  |  July 3, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    I LOVE the “after” highlights – so cute!

    Reply
    • 17. Amanda  |  July 3, 2010 at 7:06 pm

      Thanks Val, it’s a relief I’ll tell you that much!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


