Mediterranean Feta Pasta

July 1, 2010 at 1:32 pm 3 comments

First and foremost – thanks for the hair support friends.  I know that post was way off topic, however it really rocked my boat to have my hair all skunky brewster and I needed to be able to share some of that energy with the world.  After the hair fiasco culminated, I continued the June pantry cleanse with another simple yet tasty meal. I dub this Mediterranean Feta Pasta [for fools].  this is really that simple and tasty.

Ingredients

  • 28oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 18oz can of cannellini beans, drained/rinsed
  • 10oz box chopped frozen spinach [let that 15-20 minutes]
  • 1/2 box penne
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp basil
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 block crumbled soy feta [tomato garlic] – or more if you so desire!

Cook pasta in boiling water per box directions. Meanwhile, saute garlic in olive oil over medium heat until golden/fragrant.  Add tomatoes, basil, oregano, and beans and bring to boil.  Cover and simmer 10 minutes.  Add spinach and cook another 5-10 minutes, raising heat to medium, until most excess liquid reduced. Stir in feta, then mix in pasta.  Enjoy!

The meal was so quick to throw together and so delicious!  I especially love the chunks of tomatoes and the feta combo – it’s a different take on a traditional basil-centric summer pasta that is often consumed around here these days, and far more decadent thanks to the feta. D even said it was “really good” – he also felt the need to add “it would be better without the beans”.  I know you all disagree, as do I!  You can barely even tell there are beans in the dish quite frankly. Mind over matter D, even if you do have spidey sense for beans.

This recipe made a ton of pasta, even using only half a box.  I tried so hard to push off leftovers on my friends last night, but to no avail.  No one eats leftovers around here, such spoiled brats!  So tonight we are eating leftovers, and D can sulk about it all he wants unless he wants to pull dinner together.

On a personal note, I’d like to add that for the second time in my adult-life I’ve left the dentist without cavities!  Mind you, both visits occurred within the past 365 days, however prior to that I was glutton for punishment and feared the almighty dentist like the boogey man. I’ve learned that flossing and a sonic-care tooth brush can keep the dentist away the same way that an apple can for the doctor.  This is a moderate adult accomplishment for me. Hooray!

Entry filed under: dinner, italian, pasta, recipes, vegan. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Sidetrack: Hair evolution & a small Jersey crisis. Philly [Vegan] Eating

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laura (youngDCliving)  |  July 1, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    That pasta looks great! I’m excited to look through your site 🙂 Just found it through your comment on Never Home Maker 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Keri - I Eat Trees  |  July 1, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    I’m hungry- I wish I had a bowl of that right about noooow.
    Congrats on the dentist! 🙂

    Reply
    • 3. Amanda  |  July 3, 2010 at 7:06 pm

      Thanks, small accomplishment!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


