An All American Vegan Holiday!

July 4, 2010 at 1:24 pm 15 comments

I’m always looking for a reason to bake cupcakes or whip up a new recipe, so Independence Day must not go unnoticed. Consider this a double whammy of American Vegan goodness that brings some pride to the food that passing our mouths on another American holiday associated with food. At least we can be patriotic and cruelty free, right?

Inspired after my visit to Sweet Freedom Bakery, I couldn’t shake the flavors associated with the Blueberry-Lemon Cupcakes.  So I took to the bible – Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World.  I followed the recipe for a Lemon Cupcake with Lemon Buttercream, and added 3/4 cup of blueberries to the badder after combining all ingredients.

These were AMAZING!  For serious!  I know that I say that all the time, but these were – dare I say – better than the cupcakes I had at the bakery.  So moist and refreshing – all the flavors complimented one another to form PERFECTION!  D ate three, nearly in a row.  He was utterly disappointed when I gave away more than 1/2 of the batch (only makes a dozen) to our neighbors.  These are a true winner and the perfect choice for a summer barbecue dessert.

So a big hit around here is potato salad from the deli.  Unfortunately, it’s both expensive and laden with dairy and egg products.  Today’s mission was an attempt to replicate our favorite potato salad without those elements.  I had to work completely on looks – as I peered into the deli counter to see what ingredients appeared to be present.  I also relied a bit on taste memory, and what I think was essential.  Here’s what we came up with for my Vegan Red-Skin Potato Salad.

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 lbs ( about 8 ) red skin potatoes, quartered
  • 3 green onions, sliced
  • 1/2 medium red onion, chopped
  • 1/2 tbsp. pickle juice
  • 1 tbsp. dijon mustard
  • 3/4 c. Veganaise
  • 1/2 tbsp. fresh dill, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt (or to taste)
  • ground pepper to taste.

Boil potatoes in salted pot of water until tender to fork but without falling apart (need to keep an eye on this!). Meanwhile, mix the remaining ingredients in a bowl and set aside to chill in refrigerator. When potatoes are ready, drain and set aside until cool.  When cooled, cut into 1-inch chunks and mix with remaining ingredients.  Chill for 2 hours (or until cold) before serving.  Enjoy!

This is pretty damn good if you ask me!  I love the dill/pickle juice flavor – and I do think the inclusion of both onions are necessary for the right crunch and intensity.  I’m still waiting for D to try this – but I found it delicious and can’t wait to eat it during lunch all week!  D loves it!  He didn’t even pick around any of the onions or dill, just gobbled it all up . Hooray! I served mine up with a veggie burger (topped with guac) and a half-sour pickle. YUM!

Hope you’re having a delicious holiday weekend as well – can’t wait to see what everyone has been up to (and eating)!!

Entry filed under: baking, cupcakes, recipes, salad, vegan. Tags: , , , , , .

Philly [Vegan] Eating Blueberry Day Off Pancakes!

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. urbanvegan  |  July 4, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    You really went all out! Yummers. Now I’m too full to eat.

    Reply
  • 2. Carissa  |  July 4, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    Happy 4th of July! That potato salad looks wonderful, especially with that pickle! Nice job with the cupcakes too!

    Reply
    • 3. Amanda  |  July 5, 2010 at 8:03 pm

      Thanks Carissa, and thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  • 4. Jessica @ Lima's Vegan Kitchen  |  July 5, 2010 at 11:04 am

    Hello there!
    Your blog is BEAUTIFUL! I love it!!!! Im so glad you stumbled upon mine! Lima is a bit crazy, isnt she! She keeps getting better and better!

    All of your food really looks great-especially your cupcakes! I’m very new to baking and decorating so, looking at your pictures, you need to give me a tutorial!

    I cant wait to see more!

    Reply
    • 5. Amanda  |  July 5, 2010 at 8:04 pm

      Aw thanks Jessica – yea my cat is crazy too and she is slowly – very slow – getting a little better too. Wilton tutorials is where I owe all my thanks for cupcake decor 🙂

      Reply
  • 6. Jill - Vegan Backpacker  |  July 5, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    Yum! The cupcakes and potato salad look great. It sounds like you had a delicious holiday feast 🙂 I hope your neighbors appreciated the cupcakes!

    Reply
    • 7. Amanda  |  July 5, 2010 at 8:05 pm

      I think they did, although they are my neighbors so they probably wouldn’t give it to me straight!

      Reply
  • 8. Keri - I Eat Trees  |  July 5, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    Happy (belated) 4th of July! Those cupcakes look amazing, and the potato salad too. Have you ever just made the cream cheese frosting from VCTOTW to eat a spoonful or two for dessert? Me either, *cough* last week.

    Reply
    • 9. Amanda  |  July 5, 2010 at 8:06 pm

      Thanks – you too! How’d the kiddo do with the fireworks? I have not yet (SUPRISINGLY) made that frosting yet, but considering what you *didn’t* do last week, I think it may be time I try!

      Reply
  • 10. Miss Rachel  |  July 5, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    i wish i could bake! yum yum.

    Reply
    • 11. Amanda  |  July 5, 2010 at 8:06 pm

      Please, you could kick my butt to the corner with your cooking!

      Reply
  • 12. Michal  |  July 6, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    Your cupcakes looks so darling, just perfect for the fourth of july! 🙂

    Reply
    • 13. Amanda  |  July 6, 2010 at 10:47 pm

      Thanks Michal!!! They were so refreshing!

      Reply
  • 14. Shenandoah Vegan  |  July 7, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    That Potato Salad looks fantastic! It sounds like ‘D’ might finally be wising up!

    Reply
    • 15. Amanda  |  July 7, 2010 at 6:38 pm

      It really was rocking – my little sister loved it and D has been eating leftovers for lunch! AND he ate fake chicken tonight. GASP!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


