Blueberry Day Off Pancakes!

July 6, 2010 at 10:46 pm 11 comments

Yesterday I took the liberty to cancel my clients (wooh) and sit outside my friend’s pool and take in the 100+ degree heat in style. But before that, I really wanted waffles – and I didn’t  have a waffle iron to get my needs met. So I turned to Isa and Vegan Brunch and attacked the “Classic Pancake” recipe (also in Vegan with a Vengeance).  I added a cup of fresh blueberries I got to flipping one.pancake.at.a.time.

These were delicious and filling and really way too warm to eat on a hot hot morning with hot hot coffee.  There’s not much else to say about these, except vegan or not no one would ever know. That carries a lot of weight around here.

And really, this post is dedicated to my new boyfriend: Mr. Waffle Iron.  He’s way too shy for an unveiling just now, but I brought him home today because I had a $20 thingy for Kohls from my mama and Mr. Waffle Iron ended up being $10.  FYI:  I did not grow up with homemade waffles and feel like I’m missing out big time during my weekend breakfasts, being limited to pancakes and  french toast.  In fact, when I called my sister and told her the good news – she shared my enthusiasm with “That’s going to be so fun! I’m jealous”.  It’s the little things people.

Look forward to my first ever waffle post soon!

Entry filed under: breakfast, vegan, vegan bites. Tags: , , , .

An All American Vegan Holiday! Chocolate covered… everything!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrea  |  July 7, 2010 at 7:36 am

    Now you’ve got me wishing for waffles!

    Reply
  • 2. Stacy  |  July 7, 2010 at 7:46 am

    These look phenomenal!!!

    Reply
    • 3. Amanda  |  July 7, 2010 at 6:29 pm

      Thanks, they were (so thanks to Isa!) 🙂

      Reply
  • 4. Keri - I Eat Trees  |  July 7, 2010 at 8:29 am

    Oh my gosh! You just reminded me I have Kohl’s thingies TOO! Waffle iron is MINE- I’ve been wanting one forever, but I’m always like, I really don’t *need* that… Thank you for the reminder!! My Kohl’s thingies would have completely gone to waste, forgotten in my handbag!

    Reply
    • 5. Amanda  |  July 7, 2010 at 6:29 pm

      Haha Keri you made me laugh – when I wrote “thingy” I was sort of embarrassed but really felt that it best summed up what it was without going into details. So more or less, I’m glad I mentioned my thingy and can’t wait to see what you whip up!! 🙂

      Reply
  • 6. Jessica @ Lima's Vegan Kitchen  |  July 7, 2010 at 10:33 am

    ha! I JUST wrote about pancakes too: But coconut chocolate pancakes! Great minds think alike, maybe? 😉 I wish I had some of these though, they look divine!

    I do have a waffle iron-but I dont know how to use it. its only turned into a disaster for me!

    Reply
    • 7. Amanda  |  July 7, 2010 at 6:35 pm

      Jessica, attack that waffle iron! It’s a Sunday breakfast revolution – starts next week! 🙂

      Reply
  • 8. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  July 7, 2010 at 10:38 am

    I’m jealous too! A waffle iron is one of those “unitaskers” that I haven’t been able to justify buying yet :]

    Reply
    • 9. Amanda  |  July 7, 2010 at 6:37 pm

      Haha unitaskers, I never outwardly thought of it using that word but I see your point – which is why I also never acquired one. I’m so excited though, anything to increase my carbload!

      Reply
  • 10. Shenandoah Vegan  |  July 7, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    I was just gonna say, Jessica is posting about pancakes too! I wish I could eat as much as you two do!

    Reply
    • 11. Amanda  |  July 7, 2010 at 6:39 pm

      Haha it’s our cats, they drive us to overindulge in the kitchen!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


