Chocolate covered… everything!

July 7, 2010 at 8:30 pm 11 comments

Today D and I met for lunch and I started to bug him about all the bananas we bought and how he better get to eating them.  He then turned it around on me and reminded me how much he loved chocolate covered bananas *cough cough*.  I considered this a simple mission that I was eager to knock out during the World Cup game half-time.

These were so, so simple to make.

  • Cut (3) peeled bananas in half
  • Insert popsicle stick (or if you’re out – halved skewers) halfway through the banana
  • Lay naked (non-dipped) banana on wax/parchment paper in freezer for at least 2 hours
  • When it’s time for dipping, melt 1/2 a bag of semi-sweet (vegan) chocolate chips and 3 tbsp. of Earth Balance together.  I can’t figure out double boilers for the life of me, so I microwave my chocolate in a microwave safe bowl for 30-second intervals on Low Power (or Level 50 – whatever that means).
  • Dip and swirl banana in chocolate, sprinkle with toppings if desired (wish I had cookie crumbs and toffee, booh) and lay back on paper and return to freezer until solid.

While those were chilling, I found myself with a bit of leftover melty chocolate and a tremendous need to coat things in it.  So I added the #1 fruit for chocolate dipping into the equation.

Did I mention that on Monday in the 100 degree heat I decided to bake a gazzilion chocolate chip cookies (I used this recipe)? The cookies were good, but not until after they cooled off as they were of the more soft than crispy variety.  D said they were like the soft Chips Ahoy in the red package, and everyone at work ate them up yesterday without question.  So I dipped some of them into the remaining chocolate and added some sprinkles to the mix – with the plan to make ice cream sandwiches. I used the Turtle Trails variety from So Delicious Coconut flavors.

Super delish!!!! Best idea in awhile.  Don’t worry Cynthia – I made sure to eat these after dinner! 🙂  Dinner was “Pad Thai” from The Vegan Table with Gardein Chik’n Scallopini. D was a little confused about the chik’n (tofu? fake chicken? which?) but said it was “pretty good”! Hooray!

It was delicious.  I think it’s fair to say I had a pretty darn good eating day, and have more than my fair share of chocolate to dig into as time allows.  The icing on the cake with all of these chocolate covered treats is that they are impressive tasting, and even though people at work comment “these are so delicious and I know you never use eggs”, I know that a compliment lies in there.

I’m off to continue flaunting my bragging rights.  D was Germany, I was Spain.  I watched the game in real time but kept the end a secret so D and I could re-watch it after he got in from work.  He felt 110% certain Germany was going to kick Spain’s butt, and I kept mum.  VIVA ESPANA!  Look for some vegan Spanish meals on Sunday in celebration of the World Cup aka Amanda’s 50% heritage day!

Entry filed under: cookies, dessert, thai, vegan. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Blueberry Day Off Pancakes! No Questions: Best Pizza I’ve Ever Made!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica @ Lima's Vegan Kitchen  |  July 7, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    Im so jealous of this entire post-send me some!!!!! I need some chocolate covered bananas too! More than the I need the world cup at least…The world cup stole my husband! 😦 Maybe the bananas will help…

    *runs off to the store*

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  July 7, 2010 at 9:48 pm

      Haha Jessica – good luck with the husband and bananas! I promise you that by Sunday evening he will be back to his old self! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Jess  |  July 7, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    Hi! I saw your post on foodblogs, and I was just wondering – how did you manage to get the chocolate to stick to the frozen bananas? Just last week I was trying to make chocolate covered frozen bananas, and although they taste delicious, they look like messy globs rather than smooth chocolate-coated fruit.
    Thanks!

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  July 7, 2010 at 9:47 pm

      The firs thing that’s important is that I froze the bananas (peeled and with the sticks) without any chocolate on them for about 2-hours. The other thing is to really thing out the chocolate by adding a butter/margarine while it melts, so that the chocolate doesn’t get too gloppy! This really thins it out and helps in the dipping process!

      Hope it helps and thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Reply
      • 5. Jess  |  July 8, 2010 at 4:26 pm

        Thanks! It must have been that I used straight chocolate without thinning it – I will definitely try adding some butter next time.

  • 6. Keri - I Eat Trees  |  July 7, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    I’ll take one of EVERYTHING! You seriously just had me considering ripping opening a bag of chocolate chips right. now. Restraint, Keri.

    Reply
  • 7. Marissa  |  July 7, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    I love all of Gardein’s products! If you e-mail the contact on the website saying you love their products they will mail you a free coupon!

    Reply
  • 8. Carissa Fajardo  |  July 8, 2010 at 2:03 am

    Ahhh I love chocolate covered things! Especially bananas and strawberries! I am hungry now. Great!

    Reply
  • 9. Jayne  |  July 8, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    I want one of those ice cream cookie sandwiches!!!! Purely Decadent Turtle Trails coconut milk ice cream is crazy delicious. But sandwiching some between two vegan chocolate chip cookies covered in dark chocolate and sprinkles is beyond madness!

    Reply
  • 10. Jessica (PB & Jess)  |  July 8, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    You really are covering everything in chocolate, lol. It all looks amazing to me! 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Shenandoah Vegan  |  July 8, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    How the heck do you do all that cooking and baking and World Cup watching and Banana dipping and spinkles?! Doing just one of those things would be enough for me, but all of them?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


