No Questions: Best Pizza I’ve Ever Made!

July 8, 2010 at 8:18 pm 23 comments

A few years ago I went around telling people that my dream was to own a pizzeria.  I became so die-hard that I didn’t eat pizza for 4-months in anticipation of a trip to Italy, where I made sure to sample the alleged “First Pizza” in Naples, and the “Best Pizza” in Naples, and consequently almost made us miss our train back to Rome. Point is, pizza has played a big part in my life for a very very long time.  And I’m not here to tell you that it’s place in my heart has changed at all.

During the past year and a half of living with D I have tried on countless occasions to make us all sorts of pizza, each an attempt to perfect the art and call it my own.  I consistently have come face to face with the ultimate obstacle: soggy crust.  This is all just background info before I introduce to you the “BEST PIZZA” I’ve made to date!  That’s right, straight from D’s lips to your computer screen.  It was fresh, gourmet, and fantastical.

The Bruschetta Pizza.

  • 5 ripe Roma tomatoes, diced
  • 1/4 medium red onion, diced
  • 1 cup basil, chopped
  • 4-5 garlic cloves, pressed
  • sprinkling of garlic salt, to taste
  • drizzle of extra-virgin olive oil
  • your favorite, or easiest, pizza dough recipe

Simply mix all the ingredients, drizzle with olive oil and garlic salt, and let sit at least 30-minutes to let the flavors mix. Meanwhile, prep and bake your dough without adding the topping (well we did drizzle a little olive oil)! This is essential to gain the crisp, crunchy crust that compliments the pizza style. When pizza crust is ready, remove and add the room-temperature bruschetta.  Slice & serve!

D’s half was topped with sliced mozzarella, and he couldn’t say enough good things about the pizza.  I mean all the flavors and textures were perfect – and this took all of about 15-minutes to throw together.  Can you really beat that?  Mind you, all the ingredients cost me about $12 – the price of a pizza – but nothing really beats homemade pizza, where you are in control of the ingredients and flavors. This is now my #1 in a rush-ready to impress- recipe.  Give it a try!

Whats your favorite food of past and present?  Have you perfected it?

Entry filed under: dinner, italian, pizza, vegan. Tags: , , , , , .

Chocolate covered… everything! Introducing: Wally the Waffle Iron!

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carissa  |  July 8, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    Oh wow, that does sound good! I love bruchetta!

    Reply
  • 2. Keri - I Eat Trees  |  July 8, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    That looks delicious- it reminds me of the bruschetta “Julie” makes in the beginning of the movie Julie and Julia. I was like, *I want*.

    My favorite food growing up was always mashed potatoes, which I still really like, but I think my tastes have changed a lot since then. And I’ve always loved “breakfast foods”!

    Reply
    • 3. Amanda  |  July 9, 2010 at 10:06 am

      Can you believe I still haven’t seen that movie yet? Eek! Ah I do love mashed potatoes, it’s a winter meal comfort!

      Reply
  • 4. The Food Hound  |  July 9, 2010 at 6:13 am

    Amanda, what a brilliant idea: bruschetta on pizza!! I have a favorite dough recipe, and I grill it, which helps prevent sogginess. My two favorite ways are BBQ chicken pizza and Greek pizza, although I think Naples could beat anything I produce 🙂 I will definitely try your recipe! I’ll be blogging about my grilled pizza at some point in the near future, you should check it out! I’m new to food blogging, and I think your site is great!

    Reply
    • 5. Amanda  |  July 9, 2010 at 10:07 am

      I’m not taking all the credit – my local pizzeria sells it for $3 a slice so I thought I’d get on it too :)I haven’t tried grilled pizza yet so looking forward to see what you do with it!

      Reply
  • 6. Natalie (The Sweets Life)  |  July 9, 2010 at 8:54 am

    I want this RIGHT now!! Can’t wait to try this!!!

    Reply
  • 7. Jessica @ Lima's Vegan Kitchen  |  July 9, 2010 at 9:46 am

    This does look like the best pizza ever! I made a garlic pizza the other day and wanted to add some basil but we didnt have any-so this is making my mouth water!

    Reply
    • 8. Amanda  |  July 9, 2010 at 10:07 am

      Oh yea – basil is completely necessary!!

      Reply
  • 9. Eric  |  July 9, 2010 at 10:51 am

    mmmh… I will say I have a weird quirk about tomatoes but the pizza looks legit to me!

    Reply
  • 10. hangry pants  |  July 9, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    I really like your new (?) layout. And that pizza looks wonderful!

    Reply
    • 11. Amanda  |  July 10, 2010 at 7:54 am

      Thanks Heather! 🙂

      Reply
  • 12. Renata  |  July 9, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    I love pizza, and definitely this will be on my table very soon! Thanks for sharing this brilliant idea!

    Reply
  • 13. Andrea  |  July 9, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    This sounds really good — love the combination of baked crust and raw topping.

    Reply
    • 14. Amanda  |  July 10, 2010 at 7:54 am

      I agree – that combo of warm/crunch + cool = fantastic!

      Reply
  • 15. Stacy  |  July 10, 2010 at 8:24 am

    Looks awesome! I will take one to go, please!!!!

    Reply
  • 16. JoLynn-dreaminitvegan  |  July 10, 2010 at 10:57 am

    You are right that there is nothing like the taste of homemade pizza! This looks so good with the fresh tomatoes!

    Reply
  • 17. Ellen  |  July 11, 2010 at 10:58 am

    oh my wow, this looks so good! I wish I had it right now… great job!

    Reply
  • 18. Michal  |  July 11, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    This does look delicious, bruschetta is one of my favorites in the summer time 🙂

    Reply
    • 19. Amanda  |  July 12, 2010 at 12:20 pm

      Me too! I could eat it every night, and I almost have!

      Reply
  • 20. Sarah S.  |  July 12, 2010 at 11:09 am

    YES! So excited about this idea. My basil plants will hopefully be ready to start harvesting from soon, can’t wait!!!

    Reply
    • 21. Amanda  |  July 12, 2010 at 12:20 pm

      Our basil plant has been depleted, so I can’t imagine how delish fresh fresh basil would taste!!

      Reply
  • 22. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  July 12, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    Wow, the thick crust and fresh tomato topping look AWESOME! Was the dough homemade?

    Reply
  • 23. Claudia H.  |  November 13, 2012 at 3:51 am

    Hi, I love bruschetta pizza and yours sounds perfect. But how have you made the pizza floor? Thank you very much. Many greetings from germany.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


