Whoops I did it again. A manifesto.

July 23, 2010 at 9:27 pm 14 comments

Sometimes this happens.  Actually this is really the first time it’s happened in 7-months to this extent.  I haven’t been posting because I have had this weird aversion to food lately.  Don’t fret, I’m eating, but nothing appeals to me. Nothing. I eat for the sake of eating.  I don’t want fruit, I don’t want vegetables, I don’t want something too carby, I don’t want something hot.  I don’t really know what I want (okay that’s a lie – the past two days all I want are pita chips and hummus).

This has obviously taken a toll on my creativity, my interest in blogging, and my interest and reading blogs (so please do NOT take this personal – I’m going to catch up).  I have a feeling it’s because my vitamins are all effed up or something, as I haven’t been consistent in almost 2-months with taking them.  I’m working on it.  It’s the best explanation I can come up with.  So, for all these reasons, I have not blogged or participated in blogging. I’m hoping this changes.

I’ve attempted to make awesome ice pops, which tasted amazing and got stuck in the popsicle mold. Fail.

However last night, for the first time in literally two weeks, I made a new dinner.  We’ve been pretty much living off of frozen throw-togethers from Trader Joes until this point.

Mexican Polenta Casserole

  • 1 polenta tube
  • 1.5 cups frozen “Latino Blend” vegetables (corn, peppers, onions, black beans)
  • 1 can of fire roasted tomatoes
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 cup daiya (or cheez of your choice).

This was super simple.  Preheat the oven to 350.  Meanwhile, after oiling a pan, saute frozen vegetables until smelling fragrant over medium heat.  Add entire can of tomatoes to vegetable mixture until begins to bubble. Lightly oil a casserole dish, then layer the bottom with slices of 1/4 inch of polenta slices, pressing into the bottom.  Layer with 1/4 cup of cheez. Cover with vegetable/tomato mixture.  Top with remaining polenta circles and remaining 1/4 cup of cheez.  Bake uncovered for 20-25 minutes.

I think this was pretty tasty and so so so easy to make.  And it was my first time using polenta!  Honestly though, the vegetable/tomato mixture stole the show.  The polenta added the right flavor and texture to beef it up.  The Daiya was a fail.  I love Daiya, but I think my food apathy is not a fan of it.  I would have preferred a different cheese to take things up a notch, preferably of the pepper/jack variety? Any suggestions?

When I’m not dealing with food apathy crisis 2010, I’ve been hitting up hot yoga like crazy.  I learned of the terrible things that happen when you go to hot yoga, in the heat of summer, not properly hydrated.  Not doing that again.  I also am cheating on my yoga studio with a studio that is around the corner from where I live (versus 15-20 minutes), currently promoting a $50 unlimited month (versus $15-17 a class), and where I am beginning to at least build a relationship with my teachers (class of 5-10 versus 25-50).  While I love love love my regular studio, and this studio does not compare on many levels, I can’t say I’m not enjoying the pros of the current change.  I think in the future I’ll probably juggle both studios, for convenience and love.

Anyhow, yoga and the message of “letting go” have totally become my mantra this week.  An old friend, who I once was best friends with and haven’t spoken to in 4-years, jumped out of their car and stopped me in the middle of my run on Tuesday. He shared how much he missed our friendship and sincerely valued how great of friends we once were. In the past, I’m not sure how I would have responded to this.  Considering the circumstances of our dissolved friendship, I’d mourned this friendship’s end long ago and went through all the phases of sadness, anger, etc. etc.  But it was just so easy to let it go. And accept that the past was the past, and there was some good in that.  And I missed our friendship too.  And so we are moving forward, after four years. It’s something to think about.

And finally, I end with a few photos from where I spent my day today.  At a coworker’s home, with her animals.  I love animals, and I completely fell in love with her cat.

Have you ever had a random food apathy episode?! I’ll be catching up with your blogs this weekend, promise!! 🙂  Also I joined twitter, and am sort of embarassed?  Are you on??

Entry filed under: mexican. Tags: , , , .

Introducing: Wally the Waffle Iron! Seasonal dinner reversal.

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jane @ Sweet Basil Kitchen  |  July 23, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    It has been so dreadfully hot and humid here that we are drinking more than eating… (thank goodness for iced tea)

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  July 25, 2010 at 7:23 pm

      I think that is the crux of it – I just want to drink, so last night I had a smoothie for dinner! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Stacy  |  July 24, 2010 at 8:15 am

    I’ve definitely gone through the food blahs, or even worse, just wanting to eat the same thing over and over (and not things like salad, unfortunately, but mac-and-cheese). This usually happens to me in the winter, when nothing seems fresh or exciting. Being new to food blogging, I wonder what effect the two (blogging and food blahs) will have on each other. Can you use blogging to pull yourself out of a rut, maybe? Or is usually the case that the food blahs keep you from blogging?
    Anyhow, hang in there!

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  July 25, 2010 at 7:25 pm

      Yeap. I could have eaten pita chips & hummus for EVERY MEAL. I even tried, and now my jaw hurts so done with that. I’m trying to use blogging as a reason to pull me out – we’ll see how it goes! 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Mary A  |  July 24, 2010 at 11:12 am

    I once went through a period when I only wanted buttered noodles for dinner. Lasted a month. Everything else sounded blah.

    Reply
    • 6. Amanda  |  July 25, 2010 at 7:24 pm

      That actually sounds good to me!

      Reply
  • 7. Shenandoah Vegan  |  July 24, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    Been there done that. Usually I just don’t see any point in making anything other than Veggie Burgers and Fries during those times.

    Reply
    • 8. Amanda  |  July 25, 2010 at 7:24 pm

      Seriously – that has been my lunch all last week, except sub potato salad for fries. I’m trying to crawl out of this!

      Reply
  • 9. Keri - I Eat Trees  |  July 24, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    Followed you on Twitter! 🙂
    Hope your food blahs back off soon!

    Reply
    • 10. Amanda  |  July 25, 2010 at 7:25 pm

      Yey! Gotcha back!

      Reply
  • 11. Michal  |  July 25, 2010 at 9:30 am

    Ive been there girl! Sometimes you just.. ehh… dont feel food. Sometimes it looses its appeal. I go through phases like that once or twice a year sometimes. I usually end up craving greens and fruits eventually though!

    And im on twitter too 🙂 I follow you now!

    Reply
    • 12. Amanda  |  July 25, 2010 at 7:25 pm

      I’m trying to get around it and force some fruit / veg into my life, and thanks for following me – I’m following you now too! 🙂

      Reply
  • 13. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  July 26, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    Sorry to hear about your food apathy. Although, to tell you the truth, sometimes I wish for a break from thinking about and dreaming of and CRAVING food all day every day. But I can imagine how un-fun that would quickly get.

    Reply
    • 14. Amanda  |  July 27, 2010 at 9:29 pm

      Totally unfun! And I’m still eating – just junk! 😦

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


