Seasonal dinner reversal.

July 25, 2010 at 8:17 pm 15 comments

Today I got down to it. Rather, I really really tried to get down to figuring out what I wanted to eat this week. Nearly a month ago I purchased American Vegan Kitchen by Vegan Appetite‘s Tamasin Noyes, and haven’t gone further than throwing some flags in the recipes that I wanted to try.  So when D offered that chili was a food he’d be willing to eat, I knew right where to turn.  Sure it’s over 90 degrees and humid, but this solved a dinner dilemma and a dusty new cookbook dilemma.  I cranked the a/c and scurried down to Whole Foods to stock up on all the necessary ingredients for “Chase-the-Chill Chili”, and made sure that I had ingredients on hand at home for “Yankee Cornbread”.

I pretty much stuck to both recipes, however subbed a bag of Boca crumbles for the seitan, went with a cherry flavored beer (recipe calls for beer), didn’t use any vegetable broth (I like my chili thick), and cut down on the cumin since that is a “no no” taste around here. As for the cornbread, I just threw in 1/3 cup frozen corn kernals (all I had) – and got to cookin’!

Look at how hearty that chili is!  And yes, my cornbread chunk was really about half the size of my bowl.  And I had more.

I think this chili was fantastic!  It was definitely on the hot side – which was awesome for me, but not so much for D (he is more of a bland/mild chili guy). The sweet cornbread really was necessary to balance out chili kick.  I have to say, I wasn’t sure all the flavors were going to mix (beer? cocoa? molasses?) but they work together fabulously!  This made a huge portion and since D couldn’t deal with too much of it, I froze half and will enjoy the rest for lunch this week.

The rest of my week’s dinners are going to be pretty simple and sort of “the norm”, but hopefully I can find a way to twist it up. I’ll leave you with my princess cat Veruca, enjoying some of her homegrown treats D has been working on this summer.


What special treats do you make/buy for your pet family? And major thanks to Gail at Hungry Vegan – I won 30 Minute Vegan and can’t wait to start cooking through it!

Entry filed under: american vegan kitchen, book review, dinner, vegan. Tags: , , , , , .

Whoops I did it again. A manifesto. VEGAN BLONDIES HOORAH!

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Keri - I Eat Trees  |  July 25, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    Oh yum! Now I have a corn bread craving for sure.
    Your cat is adorable!! I have two cats and my husband has a dog. I mean, they’re all “ours” now, but that’s who we brought to the relationship. Anyway, the cats steal my late night snacks- like, the last veggie dog or almond milk ice cream out of the carton… I can’t accidentally leave anything unattended if I actually want to eat it. For the dog, I sometimes bake peanut butter dog treats. She stands and drools at the oven while she waits. 😛

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  July 27, 2010 at 9:32 pm

      Aww so your a cat lady like me! Your cats sound mischievous! Veruca will try to drink our lemonade or cereal milk, but other than that she’s not too adventurous. She will sit and wait for grass though!! Your a good baking doggy mama!!

      Reply
  • 3. Carissa  |  July 25, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    I love the pic of your kitty! My cats LOVE cat grass. They will go through one batch a day if I have it on hand. I pretty much always grow it in my yard, because they love it so much. I have a tuxedo boy too 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  July 27, 2010 at 9:31 pm

      Tuxedo love!! ❤ We are going to have to grown wheat grass in our aerogarden this winter because she is totally addicted, loves it more than ANY food I could ever give her. What's with the stuff?!?

      Reply
  • 5. Jessica  |  July 26, 2010 at 7:45 am

    I have yet to make my own chili from scratch, as much as I’ve wanted to. Yours looks good — I’ll have to try that recipe. I think that mix-match of ingredients sounds wonderful. In my house, chili is a quick meal that starts with a can of Bush’s (bad, I know, but so good and easy). I love chili and cornbread, and I like mine thick and spicy too.

    Reply
    • 6. Amanda  |  July 27, 2010 at 9:30 pm

      I’ve actually never had Bush’s before – and never eaten chili until a few months ago! You totally need to make it from scratch, makes a ton of leftovers and I’m sure beats Bush’s!! 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Eric  |  July 26, 2010 at 11:30 am

    mmh… i can get into some spicy chili for sure. looks pretty good from the photos! 🙂 So would you make the chili again and cornbread again?

    Reply
    • 8. Amanda  |  July 27, 2010 at 9:30 pm

      I would totally make this chili again – love the flavor combination, it works really well. The cornbread I’d make again but add more corn kernals and do without the nutmeg – it just doesn’t fit for me.

      Reply
  • 9. rachel  |  July 26, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    Veruca! ❤

    AND you read my mind… tonight is chili night at my house.

    Reply
  • 10. Stacy  |  July 26, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    Ironically, tonight I went into the kitchen after we just ate, and found some of our leftovers on the floor! I did not make it for our pet family, but the cats took it anyhow!!

    Reply
    • 11. Amanda  |  July 27, 2010 at 9:29 pm

      Haha my cat is particular, she does not like bananas – and actually finds them very offensive!

      Reply
  • 12. Shenandoah Vegan  |  July 27, 2010 at 8:08 am

    I definitely plan to make chili in the near future. I think it’s good all year round. Veruca looks like she’s ‘in the zone’ with that wheatgrass. Too cute.

    Reply
    • 13. Amanda  |  July 27, 2010 at 9:28 pm

      Oh she is totally in the zone. She sits by the screen door screaming whenever we walk by to alert us to wheat grass feedings!

      Reply
  • 14. Kristina @goodnweird  |  July 27, 2010 at 11:30 am

    Chili looks delicious and I love cornbread! I give my little doggie Greenies. He loves them 🙂

    Reply
    • 15. Amanda  |  July 27, 2010 at 9:27 pm

      I don’t know what greenies are but I feel like I’m missing out big time!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


