VEGAN BLONDIES HOORAH!

July 27, 2010 at 9:58 pm 12 comments

Don’t mind the caps-y title, but before we get to the aforementioned vegan treats – let’s talk dinner.  Having tried many many vegan Pad Thai recipes, I had to flip to the recipe in The 30-Minute Vegan’s Taste of the East that I won last week, which obviously promises for a delicious quick dinner recipe. I almost screwed it up tonight: I accidentally forgot to buy a lime (whoops), ran out of sesame oil halfway through, and ran out of shallots. Other than that we were good to go with the recipe with the only modification being added 1.5 tbsp of smooth natural peanut butter to the sauce.

The noodley part of the dish was absolutely phenomenal, with just the right hints of sweet and hot (with a touch of creamy). D went back for seconds, which is basically the litmus test of all good meals.  We both were not into the tofu part of the dish, to no fault of the recipe.  I didn’t have time to press the tofu for more than 10-minutes and it was all sorts of wiggly jiggly and neither of can handle our tofu without the firmness of a brick. So verdicts?

First recipe from this book is a success!  There are a plethora of awesome looking recipes that seem so much less daunting than usual due to the 30-minute nature of the book.  I can’t wait to share more!

Yesterday I had a terrible day, and thought it was good bloggie etiquette to leave my issues off this page.  I desperately wanted to bake but due to exhaustion had to nix the thought – which quickly reared it’s beautiful head this evening. As a rule, I like to always have “cookie” ingredients on hand – which ultimately always include the presence of semi-sweet chocolate chips.  I have been under the false belief that I had exhausted my supply – to find a lone bag at the highest shelf of my baking cabinet!  Imagine my excitement!

I have been yearning for a white chocolate butterscotch coconut blondie – however due to a lack of white chocolate and butterscotch en casa,  I had to settle on a straight up brownie recipe. I found a recipe on allrecipes.com. I subbed Earth Balance for the butter and an Ener-G egg replacer. After baking for 23-minutes, I let them cool for about 10-15 – so that they still maintained their melty gooey state.

These are SO out of control!!!  REALLY!  While I am still searching for the perfect chocolate chip cookie, these may be the perfect chocolate chip blondie. D commented that they were like a huge piece of cookie cake – and *gasp* went back for seconds.  He said they were the best vegan cookie to date, and he would have believed me if I had said they were not vegan.  My friend was over and I gave him one too, and he said they were A-MA-ZING before I told him they were egg/dairy free. Score! Ooey, gooey, chocolate success. Just what I needed.

What’s the best baked good recipe you’ve veganized successfully? I think this is my first attempt at a non-already vegan recipe. Relief!

Entry filed under: baking, brownies, dinner, thai. Tags: , , , , , .

Seasonal dinner reversal. Excuses, Excuses, and some baking on the side.

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carissa  |  July 27, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    I love your blondies! I am craving that now 🙂 Best dessert I’ve veganized…Probably these chai chocolate cookies i like to make .

    Reply
  • 2. Shenandoah Vegan  |  July 28, 2010 at 8:59 am

    You and Dianne with your blondies! you’re killing me here!

    Reply
  • 3. Vegan Thyme (Kelly)  |  July 28, 2010 at 9:50 am

    Okay, now I want some pastry, blondies AND brownies! Great vegan baking there, Amanda!

    Reply
  • 4. Jessica  |  July 28, 2010 at 11:46 am

    That tofu looks nice and browned, even if it was wiggly.

    The cookie cake blondies look delish!

    Reply
  • 5. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com  |  July 29, 2010 at 10:44 am

    i havent seen a good pad thai like this in ages!!! WOW. and damn those blondies look insanely rich and chewy ❤

    Reply
  • 6. mangocheeks  |  July 30, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    I made some carob brownies this morning they looked a bit like these, which got me thinking about vegan blondies and now I know. Thank you for sharing.

    I also made a dish with tofu, it too was a bit wobbly.

    Reply
  • 7. BitterSweet  |  August 1, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    That pad thai looks killer! I actually have yet to find a recipe that I truly loved, so I guess I’ll have to check this one out… It looks promising!

    Reply
  • 8. ieattrees  |  August 1, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    The pad thai looks really tasty- I think I’m hungry now… haha
    And those blondies look OUT OF CONTROL! They remind me of the chocolate chip cookie bars my mom used to make.. in appearance, I mean. I don’t know what they taste like.. I tired licking the screen, but nothing.

    Reply
  • 9. Eric  |  August 2, 2010 at 11:23 am

    I have yet to try to make pad thai, but now ill make sure to put it on the agenda. Might have to borrow a good recipe though! I agree on the flimsy tofu… eck

    Reply
  • 10. kim g.  |  August 5, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    Oh, those blondies!!! The look so ooey gooey yummy!

    Reply
  • 11. Jessica  |  August 10, 2010 at 10:34 am

    Wow, those blondies look AWESOME!! I’ve only tried making blondies once (and they weren’t a treat I grew up with), and they weren’t very good… Yours look so yummy.

    Your dinner looks great, too! I want that book so bad. I have the original “30 Minute Vegan” & it’s fantastic!

    Hmmm… What did I veganize recently? Oh! I veganized a chocolate chip cookie recipe that yielded AMAZING cookies! Yummm.

    Reply
  • 12. rachel  |  August 17, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    oohh blondies! ❤ ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


