Soup season: just what I needed!

September 21, 2010 at 8:02 pm 3 comments

I’m shaking this total blog apathy and moving forward.  Hell, it’s soup season and that is just what I need to get the inspiration flowing – the heat wave was a total food buzz kill!

Things have changed around here and D is now working and going to law school four evenings a week and my cooking has suffered, but I’m back on track  cooking preparing breakfast, lunch, dinner – just not with the same fervor as before.  I’m cooking for one people and trying to save some cash!

Thankfully there are some great people over at Book Publishing Co. who have shared with me the mecca of Italian vegan cooking, Nonna’s Italian Kitchen, and whipped up a batch of delicious “Minestrone alla Milanese” (page 122) to eat every day this week for lunch.  This makes a hefty portion of soup, and certainly makes the eight servings worth it suggests.  I subbed spinach for cabbage and ditalini for rice – and then chose to freeze three portions (approximately 2-cups each) for when I’m in a pinch. For all of about 260 calories a servings, this is one vegetabley packed soup of deliciousness.  It really didn’t need any salt or pepper (I rarely use that as it is) and is quite filling!

We’re talking beans, carrots, onions, tomatoes, celery, potatoey goodness here. I am so going to love this in about 3-weeks when I get home late on a chilly night and am scrapping for a good meal.

Stay tuned for my too-good-to-be-fast-food favoritest vegan salad ever tomorrow.

Check out my previous reviews of Nonna’s Italian Kitchen recipes:

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Excuses, Excuses, and some baking on the side. This Bread is Bananas!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carissa  |  September 21, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    Yum! I have totally been craving soup lately! It’s still in the 80’s in Nebraska though, so I gotta wait a little longer

    Reply
  • 2. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  September 22, 2010 at 8:05 am

    Welcome back!

    This looks sort of pasta e fagioli-ish…yum.

    Reply
  • 3. Jessica  |  September 22, 2010 at 9:56 am

    Yeah, it’s still hot here too, but I did make some soup recently. This looks great – beans and greens in the soup!
    Welcome back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


