Autumnal Treats of the Pumpkin & Apple Variety.

October 2, 2010 at 9:15 pm Leave a comment

Today was a perfect fall Saturday, definitely the way I imagine all fall weekends should be: chilly and sunny and spent outdoors with a hoodie. Last night I got the baking itch and with 1/2 a cup of pumpkin left from my oatmeal this week, I knew that pumpkin chocolate cookies were exactly what was called for.

D and I made these together in California four Octobers ago (I can’t believe it was that long ago!) when he was visiting me after a day of pumpkin picking and goat petting – and we haven’t returned to them since.  I followed the recipe from The 100 Best Vegan Baking Recipes for “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies”.  What turned out was exactly as light and fluffy as the non-vegan cookies D and I made years ago.  The only change I’d make is subbing pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon – more of that pumpkiny flavor! Dee-lish!

Apple Cider Donuts!

Okay so back to tonight – we were closing out our day out and passed by some apple cider. My eyes lit up and I told D I could make us apple cider donuts.  He asked if I was serious – and the jug came home with us.  The recipe search was far more complicated.  I decided to wing it and just used vegan margarine (Earth Balance) and 2 Ener-G egg replacers and followed Emeril’s recipe. Instead of frying, I baked the donuts in my donut pan at 350 degrees for 13 minutes.  Glazed with a 1 cup powder sugar + 1/4c apple cider glaze dipped in sugar/cinnamon. D approved!

Best enjoyed with some hot apple cider (check!) and a horror movie (check!).

Entry filed under: baking, cookies, vegan. Tags: , , , , , , .

This Bread is Bananas! Woodstock Animal Sanctuary.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


