A very orange dinner.

October 4, 2010 at 8:35 pm 4 comments

In the continued spirit of all things fall, tonight’s dinner was an ode to everyone’s favorite bloggie vegetable: the butternut squash.  Once upon a time I spent hours hacking at a full squash to get to the inside, and after breaking a knife and nearly my own hand, I vowed never again.  So thankful it comes pre-chopped at most grocery stores.

I haven’t been cooking dinner much due to D’s being in law school most nights, but I decided as the weather changes that I miss making dinner, and vow to cook it at least 2x a week. So tonight’s dinner was an attempt at mixing some autumn with some Mexican. So doable.

I found a recipe for “Butternut Squash Enchiladas” on vegetariantimes.com and it was pretty much what I was going to do anyway.  Here’s what I changed:

  • Used about 12 ounces of butternut squash – cubed and microwaved for 10 minutes, then mashed
  • Used Tofutti cream cheese (approximately half a container)
  • Used Daiya to top the enchiladas
  • Swapped out the green onions for a chopped green bell pepper
  • Nixed the cumin & nutmeg – the adobe was flavor enough!

It was very very orange indeed – especially coupled with the Spanish Rice (which btw yellow rice not even vegetarian, read labels peeps!). And no, not a healthy dinner – but the butternut squash does take it up a notch in that area.  This was one of those decadent and divine dinners that you savor every bite of – so rich in flavors.  D went back for seconds, which carries a lot of clout around here in terms of re-makeability.

Definitely makes enough for leftovers (see: tomorrow night’s dinner) and fills the belly big time.  I forgot that I had become un-Daiya.  After using it again tonight, I think I still am. Back to the faux-cheese hunt I go.  But not before I enjoy an orange-colored pumpkin chocolate chip cookie!

Entry filed under: mexican, vegan. Tags: , , , , , .

Woodstock Animal Sanctuary. Food for One

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  October 4, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    Oh man, I haven’t made enchiladas in way too long…yours look like they came straight off a restaurant plate! Very nice. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Keri - I Eat Trees  |  October 5, 2010 at 6:49 am

    Yum, orange looks delicious!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Lauren  |  October 5, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    Ooh your butternut squash enchiladas look great! I was thinking of doing enchiladas one night this week, thanks for the inspiration 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. kim g.  |  October 7, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    Those enchiladas sound amazing! What a perfect fall dinner. You’ve inspired me to recreate this one, although like you, I’m sort of hit or miss with Daiya…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


