Food for One

October 9, 2010 at 10:20 pm 3 comments

On a beautiful Saturday morning, when all I dream of is sleeping in, I woke up to an alarm to hit up some hot frikkin yoga. YES. It was fantastic and sweaty and I left in the most starving of states. The mission? A vegan oatmeal pancake “for one”, that had a bit of a protein punch.  I think I’m at 90% success. Veruca watched closely as I combined the ingredients.

  • 2 1/2 tbsp unbleached flour
  • 2 1/2 tbsp oatmeal
  • 1/2 tbsp protein powder (I used chocolate Vega)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 1 tsp sweetener of choice

Mix the dry ingredients in separate bowl. Mash banana & add 1/2 of almond milk and desired sweetener, mixing until smooth. Add to dry ingredients with remaining almond milk, stirring until smooth.  Pour onto heated pan/griddle until bubble and flip. When edges curl up, it’s done!  Makes 2-medium pancakes for one, about 250 calories!

Now these pancakes were actually very delicious.  I was skeptical.  First, because they kept sticking to the pan (probably because I didn’t spray the pan).  Second, because I had run out of syrup and pancakes just always beg for syrup – especially with a protein powder sucking some moistness out of it.  WELL, I was pleasantly surprised that these were delightful, moist, and sweet.  No need for syrup!  They filled me up for a few hours to boot, hooray!  I will totally return to these, with a well sprayed pan.

D and I then went out to pumpkin pick (sans camera) and oogle at aplacas (I love love love them).  I pretty much lounged around inside all day due to my lazy Saturday exhaustion, which called for a nap.  It also called for the Trader Joes pumpkin bread mix to be taken off the shelf and be put into practice.  For as much as I love to cook from scratch, I couldn’t pass up this delight.

I’m no fool, I know it calls for eggs.  Which to me, meant Ener-G Egg Replacer.  I hadn’t replaced eggs in any form of a mix before, so this was my first attempt. I think the muffins rose pretty well, and are so very incredibly moist and tasty!  D’s only complaint (after he said they were good) was that they are a bit too moist on the bottom.  Which to me reads: cook a little longer.

Early to bed – off to Philly for a friendsie reunion!  Happy long weekend friends!

Entry filed under: baking, breakfast, vegan. Tags: , , , , .

A very orange dinner. The McVeggie Salad Experience.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. BlessedMama  |  October 11, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    I think it’s great that you are able to come up with a recipe for one person, and a pancake recipe at that! Those are very precise measurements – I don’t think I could have done that. It looks good, though, as do those muffins.

    Reply
  • 2. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan  |  October 11, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    The pumpkin muffins look flawless to me. And nice job improvising with the p-cakes.

    Reply
  • 3. Eric  |  October 20, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    Veruca!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


