The McVeggie Salad Experience.

October 19, 2010 at 7:50 pm 8 comments

Back in the day when meat and I shared a one-sided relationship, the “Cobb Salad” was my salad of choice.  Enter tons of balsamic vinagrette and other toppings that I’m sure you’ll all too familiar with but would also rather not recall.  Those days disappeared long ago, but my attempts at recreating an indulgent TGI-Fridays style salad have remained. We can all agree that a salad feels best when it leaves you feeling light and refreshed – but there are those salads that beckon you with their come hither dressing which you can’t say no to all the time.

How fortuitous that Fresh Express would challenge bloggers to use their salad mixes to pull together a creative recipe – when I had a recipe I have been dying to share (*as part of the FoodBuzz Tastemakers Program, I received coupons for Fresh Express Salads).  Does this recipe contain processed vegan foods? Yes.  Is it delicious once in awhile? Absolutely.

Enter: The McVeggie Salad

Ingredients:

 

I really, really love this salad.  Once you step off an elitist soapbox you may be carrying around (not pointing fingers, just saying!), you’ll probably like this salad in all it’s creamy, crunchy, crispy glory.  You may even trick some of your omni friends into loving it too.  It’s that tastilicious that I’ve run home craving it and thanking the heavens that this meal is so quick and down and dirty to throw together.  And thanking the Fresh Express gods over there who shared the mecca of coupons with me.

 

And guess what?  GIVEAWAY TIME.

The kind folks at both FoodBuzz and Fresh Express hooked me up with a ton of coupons to explore their many salad bags – which happen to come in handy when you work until 7:30 most nights and are too hungry to start rinsing and chopping away at salad. POINT IS, if you are interested – leave a comment with your favorite salad and I’ll be happy to mail you FOUR COUPONS for a free salad bag or kit.

What’s your favorite way to indulge in a salad? You have until Friday, October 22nd to comment! Winner to be chosen at random!

Entry filed under: dinner, recipes, salad. Tags: , , , , , .

Food for One Oh heeey?

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jordan P  |  October 19, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    I LOVE to indulge in a mexican salad, some soy crumbles, salsa, black beans, peppers, all the best things.

    Reply
  • 2. Carissa  |  October 20, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    Wow, haha, looks great! I just made spinach, strawberry, and vinaigrette salad for dinner with our pizza. Not very indulgent, but good 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Tanya  |  October 20, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    Sometimes I get the those bags as a salad base. I usually add some other greens, like Kale and a ton of chopped celery, cucumbers, carrots, etc. Top with balsamic vinegar and some garlic,salt and pepper. Yum!

    Reply
  • 4. BlessedMama  |  October 21, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    Hi, Amanda, I’ve given you an award at my blog. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. ro  |  October 29, 2010 at 12:18 am

    My favorite salad is almost exactly like the one you just made, except I use balsamic dressing…and I never thought to add the veggie bacon. It sounds so good though – I want to make one right now!

    Reply
  • 6. Jessica  |  November 1, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    This salad looks GREAT! I love Gardein Crispy Tenders so much.

    Reply
  • 7. BlessedMama  |  November 27, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    Yuuuuuumy salad!

    Reply
  • 8. Miss Rachel  |  December 27, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    Amanda, I miss you! For some reason, I haven’t been getting your blog updates. Glad I decided to check on my own, ’cause that salad looks awesome. xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


