Oh heeey?

February 13, 2011 at 8:56 pm 2 comments

Oh hey blog world.  I never expected to fall off the wagon so hard, but I did.  My background and header even disappeared (help?). Doesn’t mean I didn’t stop reading your blogs daily, but my drive to write and share sort of dwindled as the sun crept away and I fell off my eating wagon.  Yeah.  I admittedly slowly fell off the vegan wagon, and I’m not ashamed to share it, although for while I was.  I still tried to keep vegan as much as possible, but the efforts weren’t my best or healthiest. Don’t get me wrong, I still ate vegetarian and was conscious of the types of dairy and egg I consumed, but I let my mind enter the land of do not return.

I spent some time contemplating what eating vegan truly meant to me.  I believe in the lifestyle at it’s core, and yet I fell off.  I let the blame fall on myself, mostly due to the inability to stand strong against social pressures. So in the meantime, I’ve been re-contemplating my position on my vegan-ness. What drove me toward it? Compassion for animals. What drew me away? Isolation from others. It’s not easy when no one you know is on board.

So I let my compassion toward animals be fulfilled in other ways as I let my mind wander regarding my consumption. I started volunteer at a no-kill cat shelter, and it is so completely rewarding.  I know people always say they could never volunteer because it is so heartbreaking, etc. etc. and I get that; but these animals want love. I can give love while I scoop their poop and feed them and play with them.

And still, my mind wandered on, off, on. And D and I adopted a little kitten from the shelter I volunteer at whose litter mates all died within the first three weeks. He fought through it and won me over.  Meet Edgar, the coolest dude in this house:

So the past two weeks I have been getting back on the wagon.  And then this whole deer incident happened on Thursday.  Let’s just say it involved a local “deer management program” and me on the side of the road in tears. And I thought, “WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH ME?!”.   Later that day I then bought The 3-Day Cleanse and Kris Carr’s The Crazy Sexy Diet books.  I need to cleanse the shit out of myself and get back on track.

And here we are.  I am starting the 3-Day Cleanse (aka the “blueprint cleanse“) on Wednesday. I opted to obviously make all of my juices – and I expect this to be quite a challenge. I CAN DO IT.  Nothing to fear but fear itself right? And failure, which there will be NONE of.  The following week I’m going to start the Crazy Sexy Diet 21 Day Cleanse.

Today I dragged D to the farmers market where I stocked up on all the required juices, which ended up being:

  • 25 oz spinach
  • 21 oz kale
  • 14 golden delicious apples
  • 7 cucumbers
  • 2 pineapples
  • 2 granny smith apples
  • a 3lb watermelon
  • 20 oz of blueberries
  • 4 oz parsley
  • 10 lemons
  • 30 leaves of mint
  • 1 1/2 c of cashews

All for three days.  So I’ll be here to document that – starting Wednesday. Because now I need to go enjoy a vegan cupcake for Valentines Day. ❤

Entry filed under: vegan. Tags: , , .

The McVeggie Salad Experience. Blueprint Cleanse Review

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Miss Rachel  |  February 13, 2011 at 10:13 pm

    look at that baby! how cute. nice to hear your “voice” again!

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  February 20, 2011 at 1:20 pm

      Trying to get back in the swing of things! I went to philly last week and was looking for food on yelp and you popped up!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


