A sweet & salty compromise.

March 6, 2011 at 10:38 pm Leave a comment

Yesterday I was all about wanting a baked good. D and I went to New Hope and I scoured for a bakery to no avail.  For dinner, we hit up Whole Foods and I snagged a vegan chocolate chip cookie – which was divine, but still I wanted more.  I was relentless about it and kept asking D if perhaps he wanted cookies. Finally at 9:30 I got to baking.  Specifically, I was interested in Terry Hope Romero’s take on the out of control Momofuku compost cookie (which I’ve had over a year ago and can still attest to it’s crack laced qualities). However I didn’t have all the ingredients I need on hand and while this will be attempted in the very near future, last night wasn’t the night.

So I compromised, with myself, and whipped up some Pretzel Infused Chocolate Chip Cookies. I based the recipe off of these blondies but with the following changes/ingredients:

  • 6 tablespoons of Earth Balance
  • 1 flax egg (*after many trials and comparisons, I’ve come to the personal conclusion that a flax egg is the best binder for cookies in comparison to EnerG)
  • Added 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 2/3 cup crushed pretzels (Newman’s Own)

I cooked them for about 15 minutes at 350 degrees, making about 18 good sized cookies.

They were delicious! D has been gobbling them up, or what’s left of them.  Let’s just say the baker can’t keep her oven mitts away. I gave some to my mom, and of course before she even took a bite she got all “what are these vegetable cookies” on me. And then she went back for a second. And a third. And said they were pretty delicious. So I hope D finishes the rest of them when I go to sleep tonight because these are so not good to have staring at my every time I walk by the kitchen as I have no self control.
I also cannot resist this foxy face.

I just whipped up my Vegan Meal Trade for the week with my co-workers, but that’s for tomorrow friends.

Entry filed under: baking, cookies, vegan. Tags: , , .

Marching on in like a lion. Meal Exchange: Sundried Tomato Avocado Tortini

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


