Meal Exchange: Sundried Tomato Avocado Tortini

March 7, 2011 at 9:41 pm Leave a comment

So today was the official day #1 of the Vegan Meal Exchange at work. Basically two coworkers and myself are each preparing one lunch meal per week for each other.  Caveat? One friend is currently eating gluten free, just further complicating things a touch.  Since the weekdays are pretty booked for me with work I offered to make the Monday lunch meal.

Originally, I had my eyes on recreating the delicious avocado rolls from The Cheesecake Factory, however food shopping at my local grocery store and looking for egg and gluten free wontons or rice papers led me to “try Whole Foods”. Well duh. So I went with a whim and decided perhaps I could roll the Ezekial corn tortillas.  That was a fail, as they crumbled under my fingertips.  However eventually I came up with a “tortini”, a tortilla panini. Or something.

Sundried Tomato Avocado Tortini (vegan & gluten free)

  • 8-10 Ezekial sprouted corn tortillas
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • 1/2c-3/4c sun dried tomatoes, chopped
  • 7 tbsp Tofutti cream cheese
  • 1/4 medium red onion, chopped thin
  • 1/4c shredded carrots
  • 1 oz fresh cilantro, shredded
  • 1-2 tsp toasted sesame oil

Cut tortillas in half and spread thin layer of Tofutti on one half. Top with 1/8 of all ingredients.  Transfer to heated grill pan with thin coating of sesame oil. Press on grill for approximately 2-minutes over medium heat. Best served warm (and with a drizzle of Toffuti sour cream with a drizzle of lime – and maybe some mango salsa).

Each serving (2 tortillas) is approximately 270 calories, based on 4 servings.

I found these incredibly fresh, light, and delicious.  Something about the balance between cilantro and the sweet sun dried tomatoes really jives, and totally fakes me into believing it’s summer.  Regardless, although time consuming (mildly), this was a win that I will definitely be returning to. Maybe next time in rice paper.

On another note, Mondays are the day that I volunteer at the cat shelter.  It can’t hurt to advertise one of our newest sweet additions who is looking for a loving family.

Meet “Eclipse”, a large male who loves having his belly rubbed.  He was found on the streets a week ago and is quickly adapting to the other cats in the shelter, however seems to prefer some human love. He’s a sweet, calm, mushy cat. If you’re in northern NJ and interested please contact me!

Entry filed under: recipes, vegan. Tags: , , , .

A sweet & salty compromise. Hot night

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


