Hot night

March 9, 2011 at 10:02 pm 1 comment

Yesterday was officially day #2 of the Vegan Meal Exchange.  I actually received two meals yesterday: black bean soup and a thai green curry.  I gobbled up the black bean soup for lunch and so I took no photos – it wasn’t too pretty anyhow but it did taste good!

After a busy day of work one of my coworkers who is doing the meal exchange and I went and got our hot yoga on.  I sweat my asana off and left desiring something cold and refreshing. I even considered juicing, however I had a perfectly good meal made for me already and I hate for fresh food to go to waste.  So green curry with rice noodles it was (and sugar snap peas and cabbage).

HOLY HOT.  I don’t know what is in green curry but she made it SUPER hot.   I gobbled up four mouthfuls and then all of a sudden it hit me – “MY LIPS ARE TINGLING”. I dropped the bowl and downed four strawberries because water did nothing to ease the pain.  Unfortunately as delicious as this was, the pain of the spice outweighed the savory and I had to put it away and snack on some hummus.  And chocolate.  My snacks are totally out of control lately and it’s not good.

Today was the final meal of the meal exchange which I also enjoyed for lunch.  The plan was to take home the pretty looking meals and share them on the blog but today’s meal was the Happy Herbivore’s Chickpea Wraps and they were a bit soggy looking, although absolutely satisfying. So lunch they were – and I recommend this recipe for sure, it tasted phenomenal.

My snack issue is bringing me to Lent.  I am by no means a religious person and I keep that belief separate from my food beliefs.  We all have our own beliefs and I’ll save my soapbox for well thought out adult conversations that occur face to face.  That being said, there is something to be said about giving something up selflessly for 40-days. I’ve read a few facebook updates about people giving up “carbs” for Lent. REALLY?? I think that is more of a diet restriction to lose weight in 40-days than a way to selflessly give something up for a cause.  Just sayin’ – you choose to skinny yourself for your religion – got it.

Back to me. My downfall to feeling healthy is my sweet addiction.  So in the name of Myself, I give up chocolate for 40-days.  Because when you admit that you are giving something up for the sake of YOU, you are being honest.  And I can honestly do this, for me. As I pop my last handful of semi-sweet chocolate chips. That doesn’t mean I cannot bake for others.  It does mean a bake-strava-ganza will occur at the end of this.

Anyone else giving something up, for whatever reason? I’ve never given something up like this before for a set amount of time, although I do remember in high school all my friends gave up soda and M&Ms and they couldn’t really tell me why, except because it was for Lent.

Entry filed under: thai, vegan. Tags: , , .

Meal Exchange: Sundried Tomato Avocado Tortini Simply lunch.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. C  |  March 10, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    Those noodles look delicious! Too bad they were so hot.
    I didn’t give up anything for Lent. I’m not religious, so for me, it doesn’t make any sense, but I do think that the idea is nice – especially when people give up eating meat! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


