Pizzalicious [GF&V] Sunday.

March 13, 2011 at 9:19 pm 2 comments

Something about Sunday begs for a home cooked meal.  Traditionally I like Sundays to be Italian meals, and after seeing Renae’s vegan pizza success I knew I had to try to get as close to her pizza as I possibly could. Her post convinced me of two things:

1) I should re-introduce Daiya into my life

2) I need a pizza stone

I’m still working on the latter.

I used the Bob’s Redmill gluten-free pizza crust mix with flax eggs and a shake of garlic salt, Daiya mozzarella, Galaxy soy parmasean, fresh basil and of course the only tomatoes that should ever top pizza or pasta – San Marzano (whole peeled).

I found the dough incredibly hard to work with – and split it into thirds to make it more manageable.  I baked each third for 9 minutes without toppings and additional 20 minutes once the toppings were added at 450 degrees. I think the key to a successful well-cooked pizza crust is forming a thin dough, which was impossible with the gluten free mix.

My pizza was actually pretty tasty absolutely delicious! The tomato/basil combo really stole the show with the Daiya taking a subtle backseat.  I’d definitely give Daiya another go atop pizzas, but the gluten-free pizza crust I’m not so sure about. My pizza definitely doesn’t look as beautiful as Renae’s – but I’m going to blame that on the lack of pizza stone and will aim to remedy the situation before my next pizza attempt.

Now I’m off to increase my vitamin-C intake with some champagne. Nothing like evening mimosas to kick off the new week!

Entry filed under: pizza, vegan. Tags: , , , .

Simply lunch. O’Bagel, Bagel

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Renae  |  March 13, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    I think your pizza looks beautiful! And I admire your attempt at a gluten-free crust even if it didn’t work out as well as you’d like. It looks like you got it fairly thin and it looks delicious, even if it was hard to work with.

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  March 14, 2011 at 8:26 pm

      Thanks Renae! Your pizza was totally the inspiration!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


