O’Bagel, Bagel

March 14, 2011 at 10:34 pm 2 comments

While I am primarily an oatmeal & cereal weekday breakfast girl, D prefers bagels on weekends exclusively.  In fact, last weekend was the first time he’d ever been out for pancakes during breakfast hours. True story.  He also last year famously declared that he had never eaten a green bagel.  Now around here, in the bagel mecca of the United States, green bagels are all the rage during St. Patrick’s week.  I couldn’t help but feel like his empty hole was my void to fill, with a green holed doughy breakfast treat.

I also decided to make myself a few sesame seed bagels to fill my own doughy void.

Since this was a bit of an on the whim decision, I assumed that I had all the ingredients on hand for Vegan Brunch‘s bagel recipe.  Such as Vital Wheat Gluten. I saw it last week, I know I did. And so I proceeded to rip apart my cabinets, twice,  in search of the stuff. To no avail.  So I turned to a more generic, but still vegan, recipe here.

I followed the direction for the broiled bagels (broil, boil, bake). I boiled the water with molasses instead of sugar as per some review suggestions as well, then baked for 25 minutes.

And while I was trying to take some pretty photos of my sesame seeded creations, someone decided to some investigating.

He just couldn’t resist.  Either could I.

Entry filed under: baking, vegan. Tags: , , , .

Pizzalicious [GF&V] Sunday. Recyclin’ Lunch

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cakewhiz  |  March 15, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    awwww! your little kitty is so cute!
    i have never made my own bagels but yours look awesome… that green one has st.patty’s day written all over it 😛

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  March 16, 2011 at 9:22 pm

      Thank you! He’s totally my baby – and the green bagels were totally not as cool looking as I’d hoped, still tasty though!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


