Compulsions.

August 15, 2011 at 11:38 am 2 comments

I bought these flowers to make me happy, brighten up the entry way, and welcome myself home after a 10-day vacation. Except the cats seem to be loving the flowers more than me.  Totally cool – I brought the wild into their box and wrapped it up in a vase.

Also totally cool, my compulsion to purchase classes at various fitness studios in bulk.  It took me a long time to realize I am not a gym person anymore.  I’d purchase a membership, go for a month, then slowly taper off.

When I found yoga, that totally changed. I bought myself an elliptical to take care of cardio at home and bought a package at the studio to practice yoga.  Then, a year ago, another hot yoga studio opened 5-minutes from my home (other studio is 20-minutes away). Once I started going there more regularly out of convenience, I purchased a package of classes there. So now I’m juggling two yoga studios based on my schedule – totally doable.

Enter: the Bar Method.  Now I’m in the middle of a 30-day unlimited package, which I’ve pretty much committed myself to as my sole workout form until the package runs out (holy expensive!).  Enter: PAUSE on TWO yoga packages.  Oh – and did I mention that I also bought a package at the local Bikram studio at a total steal of a deal? That will begin after the Bar Method package ends. Yea. Keeping track? Let”s not even enter the cycling studio into the equation. Luckily I was smart enough to by that on a per-class basis as needed.

So what’s the problem? My inability to say no to work opportunities.  I need to prioritize – as much as I love a good paycheck, I love feeling good too.  Work versus Working Out. The eternal battle.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Normal? Berlin

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. fifthfloorkitchen  |  August 15, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    how do you like the bar method? we just got some studio’s here and I was pondering a class. I’ve enjoyed bikram yoga, and I do a lot of running (training for marathon) but just wanted another activity for crossing-training days.

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  August 15, 2011 at 9:06 pm

      I’ve only taken three classes so far, but I think it’s great for cross training. There’s a lot of stretching (especially hamstrings) and toning of the upper body. It’s the most I’ve sweat without doing cardio so far. I like it a lot – I’m not sure it could be my ONLY form of exercise though. Its worth trying at least three times, takes that long to get the hang of it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


