Travel Tuesday Update.

August 7, 2012 at 9:02 pm 1 comment

We’re fresh off the plane from Mexico.  There is something about traveling for an extended period of time that can conjure equal parts anxiety and excitement for what’s to come.  I had been to Tijuana for a blink of an eye when I lived in San Diego – all of the tales of women being snatched up were drilled into me from my mother and I made to sure to make my visit brief, very brief.  So when I started to get the travel itch 6-weeks ago, D and I agreed upon a short 5-day trip to Mexico to visit the Mayan Ruins in the year of the Mayan Prophecy of 2012.  This vacation was not for the purpose of R&R on the beach – D isn’t quite the pool and beach kind of guy.  I’ll save that trip for the girls in the winter.  No, this drive behind this trip was to satisfy my wanderlust.  What we ended up with was early mornings and long hot days rich with culture, with my eyes opened to the beauty of Mexico.

I can honestly say I enjoyed visiting the ruins equally as much as I enjoyed interacting with the people and learning about the culture. Every individual I met, be it a tour guide or resort staff, were the friendliest, most accommodating and hardworking people I’ve had the pleasure to meet on a vacation. Sadly, the ruins didn’t quite feel as majestic as anticipated due to the pan handlers, but that didn’t take away from the history and magnificence of the Mayans and Mexico.

I would absolutely love to return to Mexico to take in more of it’s hidden culture and limitless alcoholic beverages.  Any vacations you were surprised about your feelings toward?


Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

This blog. What I Ate Wednesday: Quick Meals Edition

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


