Mainstream Fashion Find

August 10, 2012 at 6:37 pm Leave a comment

 For over a year my sister has been raving about Rebecca Minkoff and the amazing bags she puts out season after season.  In the meantime, she’s been lucky enough to attend a few sample sales and land the M.A.C. in two colors at nearly 50% off while I ogle at fashion bloggers and celebrities sporting the brand.

What’s that, you say? UNFAIR!  That’s exactly what I thought time and time again.  Sure one may be lucky enough to snag a Minkoff on GILT or other sale sites, but my job doesn’t afford me the luxury of web trolling all day and my place in suburbia keeps me firmly tucked away from the thrill of sample sales.

What I do troll, is T.J. Maxx.  Now and then I’ve happened upon some pretty sweet deals from some fairly major labels.

So imagine my surprise when I happened upon a Minkoff bag at T.J. Maxx!  I have been coveting a M.A.C. or 5-Zip for quite some time, however couldn’t commit to a color choice. In fact, if I could just commit to a color I would have already purchased a bag at full price.  I have a problem where I only want black, white or tan bags and I knew I should step out of my box.

So I stumbled upon the pine green bag (bottom left) and insta-texted my sister with excitement.  Although I wasn’t interested in that particular purse, I felt a challenge was sprung upon me.  Operation: Find a M.A.C. or 5-Zip was on.

It only took 5 visits to 4-different stores (in a 10-day period) before I landed upon what became my bag.  The eggplant M.A.C. with leopard lining – it shone out from the racks like a beam of light.  I probably yelped out loud before parading myself around the store with it on my arm, checking out the color against my complexion.  You see, T.J. Maxx you just made my indecisive life that much easier by presenting me only one M.A.C. clutch at half-price. I know this because I ripped through every rack looking for another.  The only other Minkoff was a pine green Circle Quilted Affair which was not on my covet list. At that point I had no choice but to take home the clutch with me, due mostly to the fact that I didn’t have to pick out the color and that I actually liked the choice the fates had bestowed upon me.

But now I consider the stakes higher, as I have yet to encounter a 5-zip at a T.J. Maxx – and I may let out a full on screech if I do.  So back I went this week, post vacation, to check up on my local store’s selection.  Imagine my disbelief when I found 3 Minkoff bags, two of which are the leopard beauties pictured above.  I am a leopard print-phile, owning way too much of the pattern than I should admit to, but these were not on the scavenger list.

Right now I’m happily situated with one discounted designer bag from R.M., however I’ll continue my quest for the elusive 5-zip.  No worries, though.  I’ll be sure to share my conquest once it’s rightly situated on my arm.

What’s your best designer find at a mainstream store?

Entry filed under: fashion, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

High Five [Fashion] Friday Slice of Saturday: Blueberry Crumb Cake

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


