What I Ate Wednesday: On the Road Edition

August 22, 2012 at 9:27 pm Leave a comment

As a speech therapist there are days where I basically live out of my car, and I’m totally okay with that.  I love my car and hooked myself up with Sirius Radio so that the time spent is enjoyable, especially when sitting in traffic.  On these days, my eating is not always stellar.  And on a day like today I may prefer not share my WIAW but it’s a good reminder to plan ahead as the weeks get busy when school returns.

The morning started off slow with a deliciously strong cup of vanilla-hazelnut coffee french pressed to my heart’s delight.  Perfectly strong.

Breakfast was scrambled egg whites and goat cheese.  Once school starts in 2 weeks breakfast will be eaten on the go, so I’m savoring these time intensive breakfasts (yes, this is time intensive compared to my usual breakfasts).  I had some leftover ciabetta bread toasted with Earth Balance as well.

Meanwhile I had a surprise waiting for me in my Whole Food’s bag.  Well played Rex.

Then it was time to hit the road!  I knocked off a Vita Coco in my favorite flavor before lunch.

Lunch was un-pictured!  I actually ate a Subway veggie + cheese sandwich on wheat bread in my colleague’s passenger seat as we drove up to a teacher’s store to stock up on some essentials before the year begins.  I had a mini-bag of Stacy’s Pita Chips as well.  They can no longer be kept in my home in the large sized bag as I cannot control myself. True story.

I also ran a few errands at Target (stocked up on some SUPER adorable work pants in fun colors and a great petite fit).  I also landed one of the Orla Kiey for Method hand soaps – totally adorbs, no?

By the time I was done with errands I still had a 6:15 client to head to and was starting to feel sluggish.  Nothing a trip to Starbucks couldn’t fix!  Frappucino light for the road with a side of reality.

You see, I’ve been meaning to buy the new Fiona Apple album for a few weeks now and just haven’t gotten around to it.  Since, as I mentioned earlier, I often live in my car, I still listen to CDs.  I can’t explain why other than that I like getting something physical for my money and I like just popping a CD into the player.  I just do.  I was hoping that they’d have the album on the counter before I went in and was delighted that they did.

Except that when I handed it to the peroxide blonde tween taking my order, he confirmed “Let me get this straight, you’re buying a CD?”  I was expecting that. “Yes, and this CD.” He laughed, leaned in closer and shared that I was “the first person to buy a CD here in a very very long time”.  I could only respond with a smile and a shrug that “I guess that makes me old”.  THANKS FOR THAT!   I made sure to rip into the plastic hungrily as I waited for my frappucino (which took a little longer because he realized 5 minutes later that he forgot my order – I joked with him it was because I threw him for a loop with that whole strange “CD buying” thing). 

Onwards!

My client lasted forever and I didn’t get home until after 8, which meant it was up to D to prepare dinner that I pre-prepared (make sense?).  Wednesday nights are from here-on deemed “HELL DAY” and that means I’m allowed to eat whatever is easy and delicious for dinner.  Tonight that was homemade baked ziti (with faux-bolognese sauce) with a square of garlic bread.  No veggies. Somehow that went unprepared.

And for dessert.  On a day where I had essentially no vegetables and no fruit, I had to end on a high note.  With my favorite Ben & Jerry’s flavor Oatmeal Cookie Chunk on a sugar cone.

I’m clearly winning today and will make up for that tomorrow, with lots of fruits & veggies – in my car. Help?   Best fruit/veggie suggestions for on-the-go days? I know I should stick to pre sliced fruit and make a green juice before I get out the door, but today it just wasn’t happening. Tomorrow I’ve already planned ahead for success, woohoo for me!

Entry filed under: what i ate wednesday. Tags: , , , , .

Sunday Funday, Weekend Recap Think About It Thursday: All the Single Ladies

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


